We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #61 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

this place is a two minute stroll from the top end of the royal mile being an excellent location. rooms were very clean and spacious with a relaxing lounge area on the ground floor. breakfast was pretty decent and free so we could not complain.
a special mention must go to the our receptionist "amy" who gave us a warm welcome and always had a big smile on her face, nothing was too much trouble for her, she went out of her way to make sure we knew where we were going. she is a credit to the company. thanks amy !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    411
    102
    28
    13
See reviews for
264
334
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed over Hogmanay and had a great experience. The location is perfect to sight-see in Edinburgh. It's a five minute walk from Waverley rail station, and it is five to ten minutes walk from most of the major Edinburgh attractions. It's also very close to all the major bus routes in the city centre.

The staff were very friendly throughout our entire stay. The room was nice as well, however it would be cramped with more than two people. The free internet had good coverage, but was pretty slow. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water for showers. The free breakfast was very good with lots of options to choose from, both hot and cold.

Overall, for the price and the location, this is an excellent hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed Hogmanay in Edinburgh. Our free breakfast is a great way to start any day and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights early January for a 'getaway' break. Location was great for access to all attractions - 10 minute walk for most - and very handy for good pubs & restaurants. (No. 35 bus 2 minutes round corner on Royal Mile gets you to Royal Yacht Britannia) Public areas very clean and well-kept. Room very comfy and spacious, clean comfortable bed and nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Dining room comfortable and very good breakfasts - plenty of choice both hot and continental. Staff very friendly & helpful (Amy on reception particularly). Bar tariff very high - £7.40 for a beer and a half! Apart from that no complaints at all - to be recommended.

Room Tip: No problems with our room - high number room, away from front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. We are very lucky to be located so centrally, within close walking distance to all of Edinburgh’s main attractions. Our front desk team is on hand 24hours a day and are always happy to help with directions or recommendations. I hope you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham,Uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great service in this cosy gem of a hotel near Royal Mile, excellent location as well. The reception staff had everything ready for us, literally took two minutes for us to check in and be in our rooms. Very comfortable rooms where everthing worked, had a nice sleep; followed by good breakfast spread. This is a great place for a short stay in Edinburgh, close to Waverly station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked from the 7th to the 9th of december 2012 so we stayed for 2 nights.
In this Holiday Inn Express there is everything you need in a friendly and very clean place.
We had a perfect room,very clean, with quite big television,coffee and tea in the room, confortable beds.
They came to tidy the room and make the beds.
One morning we went down to have a breakfast and there was plenty of food.
Excellent location very close to the city centre,the old town.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location, excellent staff (especially Amy and the room cleaner), very clean rooms, good shower, small but comfortable bed, excellent breakfast (hot and cold). Location is perfect for Waverley station and for Royal Mile. The hotel is also extremely security conscious and safe, room key card operated internal doors and elevator, ll of this just helped us enjoy our Hogmany even more.

Only slight issue was temperature in the room (116), it never seemed to get warm (we did not ask for this to be fixed as we were out and about anyway)

Thank you.

Neil & Simone McCaskill

Room Tip: As i had joined the priority club, we had express check in and free tea and coffee (in and take out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is actually situated on the Royal Mile, but it is only a 3-4 minute walk away. The hotel is your standard holiday inn express, basic but clean and good value. For exploring the city it is in a great location, especially as it is only a short 5-10 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.