We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service, inflated price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average service, inflated price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked this hotel at short notice for a business trip. I requested a single room. I was allocated a linked room whose door only locked from the far side to mine. The door to the linked room was not locked and was occupied by a man at the time, a fact I only discovered when I opened the door, thinking it was the door to the ensuite.
Poor not to say irresponsible service considering I was travelling as a single female.
This experience did not add to the quality of my stay for which I paid a whopping £149 for one night.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: Don't! This is a great location and there are lots of pleasant boutique hotels in the vicinity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear condor55,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the incident with your room. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    373
    93
    27
    12
See reviews for
234
309
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh is nicely located near the main city attractions. It is very easy to go explore the city form the hotel or go at night for a drink without having to go in unsafe areas.
The room was nice and clean but very noisy. I had to buy earplugs to sleep on Saturday because of the voices of people, the TVs and the doors closing. It is one of the main reasons why I am only giving 3/5 stars.
The breakfast is composed of a continental buffet and a few British elements like beans or scrambled eggs. It is not superb but does the job. The internet is slow but is free and you can have a free copy of The Independent everyday.
Overall, a good base to explore Edinburgh but not without reproaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A great location for the castle, Holyrood, Princes st, etc.

As regards facilities: it's a Holiday Inn Express and does what it says on the tin; functional, clean, breakfast included (!).

Great service and staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great trip to Edinburgh, great hotel! Reception nice and clean! Room was great, lovely view from floor! Room was massive, plenty of space! Enjoyed breakfast just right amount! Great location 2 mins from town centre! Parking was to expensive either £20 for 48 hours not bad really! Enjoyed it! Good hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

In a 'Inn' type of clean, friendly hotel, if you can get a room for 89GBP, free wireless and breakfast, it has to be good value for money.

I found the rooms a wee smaller than other places, however, that is not a complain. It is still value for money, compared to the rest of the hotels in that area.

The breakfast was typical English breakfast, toast n beans with sausage, with a lot of choices of yougurt, etc....so good breakfast.

Service was good....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I will make this simple

PROS
Very well located (2 minute walk from Royal Mile)
Comfortable beds
Big enough room for 2/3
Decent breakfast (for being free)
Free Internet available all throughout the hotel
Has a new feeling

CONS
Potential parking problem
No hotel laundry
No room service

Employees are very nice and friendly.

I have no complaints. Is this hotel good? Yes it is. But this is a hotel for 2/3 days in Edinburgh max.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting the city for the weekend. It's a great location for the Old Town - close to bars, restaurants, the Royal Mild and the castle.

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Although the usual standard HIEX room it was ideal for a night away.

Breakfast was pretty good with a reasonable selection of food. All the staff we spoke to were pleased to help and did so with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very lucky to be positioned within close walking distance to many of Edinburgh’s most popular tourist attraction and famous buildings – Our Housekeeping and front desk team’s work to ensure all guests can enjoy a clean comfortable, relaxing stay and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.