We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbotsford Guest House to your Saves list
Abbotsford Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   36 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We've just returned from a 3 day/2 night trip to Edinburgh. I booked the guest house based on reviews in Tripadvisor and could not have been more pleased. I prefer small family run accomodations and the Abbotsford was the best in my travels.

The location is perfect, the house is a 10-12 minute walk to Princes street indeed, and the area is safe and quiet. The room was very large, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was super: fresh and perfectly cooked! The breakfast room was warm and welcoming. I guess the best part of all our stay was meeting Paola, the best landlady I have ever met: cheerful, fiendly, helpful..grazie ancora, Paola!

I will definitely stay at the Abbotsford again in the future.

  • Liked — The landlady was very friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — The size of the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
32
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Abbotsford was in Pilrig, Edinburgh, nice safe area with some parking.

Host Paola was very pleasant, room was beautiful, as was our breakfast. There are good bus services at the end of the road.

Abbotsford is proof you can enjoy Edinburgh without it being too expensive.

  • Liked — Nice, friendly, bright, welcoming
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I recently stayed in the Abbotsford Guest House and was delighted by every aspect. The house is very well maintained tasteful and very clean. The rooms are well equipped and beds are very comfortable. It is an easy walk into the centre of Edinburgh or just a hop skip and a jump on the bus. Paola is very welcoming and helpful, happy to answer questions and give directions. All of this at a price that will not break the bank, fantastic!.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We have just come back from our stay in Edinburgh after just getting married and we had a superb time there.
A lot of it was due to Paola who runs this guesthouse, after initially booking here for august 1st we also booked a room last april so we could make wedding arrangements and this is where Paola helped us so much especially with the location of the meal.
A truly genuine and friendly lady, thank you so much.
The B@B itself is a lovely traditional building ,we stayed in two different rooms which were both spotless and well maintained and nice and quiet,the beds and especially the pillows were very comfortable.
As for the breakfast, what can i say, cooked to perfection and it set us up for the day especially our big day.
The location is just off leith walk on Pilrig street , I would say it is about a mile from the begining of Princes street so it was ideal for us as the number 11 bus goes past the door .

I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Edinburgh

  • Liked — just like a home from home and nothing was to much trouble
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Guest House

Address: 36 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbotsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.