We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stac Polly - Dublin Street

Stac Polly - Dublin Street
29-33 Dublin Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NL, Scotland (New Town)
+44 (0)131 556 2231
Improve this listing
Ranked #449 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $86
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: New Town
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ventured into Stac Polly's on the advice of our cab driver and were not disappointed. We visited the Dublin St location which is located in the basement of a two hundred year old building. The atmosphere could not be beat! I enjoyed the skink along with the lamb shank. My wife had the a salad and the pheasant. The food was excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    60
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, but only OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went here with friends. We loved the choice on the menu and the food was all very good. We also enjoyed our wine. The service was a little bit lacking, but generally ok. I had the Cullen Skink and lamb shank, both were very tasty. Be aware that the shank is quite a large portion, I gave half of mine to my husband.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A cosy retreat with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a good table in a corner. Tables are close so if you were in the middle of the room the staff may disturb you.

Service and food were excellent. Portions are average but the taste combinations are fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by the concierge at our hotel this restaurant is well worth a visit. Very nice menu and wine list and the food was excellent. Efficient service and pleasant decor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had made booking well in advance for Christmas period lunch but when my family and I turned up there was no sign of our reservation. We were placed at two tiny bar tables that were differing heights and dirty with candle wax. Waiter was less than interested. We left before ordering and were lucky enough to be made very welcome at the Magnum where we had a wonderful meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Stac Polly - Dublin Street also viewed

 

Been to Stac Polly - Dublin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stac Polly - Dublin Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.