We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where is the food?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barioja Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Barioja Tapas Bar
19 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DR, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 (0)131 557 3622
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Montreal
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“where is the food?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food tasted good but the portions were sooooooooooooo small, I wish the waiter would have told us that we didn't order enough for 5 people. I know tapas are small but you often get a small size that you can share with others. Anyway, it took FOREVER to be served, we were starving and we got almost nothing so we didn't bother order more, we'd still be there. And it was expensive. Thank God we ordered 2 servings of olives, that's what made us feel full.
Don't waste your time and money unless you just want a little something, not an actual dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    22
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers!! Not going back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lots of confusion with our drinks orders.

Food not being served together meaning some of our group had nothing while others were tucking in.

Our waiter was very clueless about wine and clearly there were issues with his food orders.

We ordered paella along with our other dishes only to be told after a very long wait we couldn't have it, we weren't offered anything else on the house to make up for our long disappointing wait.

Stupidly overpriced Sangria at £17.50 for a tiny jug. Wished we'd seen the price before ordering 3 jugs!

In their defence they did reduce our bill and remove the 10% service charge.

However as a group it was an extremely disappointing way to celebrate our friends engagement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had the tapas lunch special with two friends. OK for the money ,not exceptional. portions adequate. was freshly cooked.Some bread would have been nice to soke up the sauces.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food okay, service good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a meal deal for 2 to share 5 tapas and a glass of house wine each. The food was ok, but nothing special and some of it (gambas al pil pil) lacked seasoning. Everything e.g. bread had to be ordered separately. The house wine (I had the Tempranillo) wasn't particularly good. However, the service was good and the staff went about their work smiling, which made a big difference to the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortingall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Were we in a restaurant or a tribute show?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sat right beneath a TV that played 4 minute loops of the owner's private holiday snaps!

After 20 minutes, you wonder why anyone would do that, after an hour you lose the will to live and then develop an incomprehensible desire to rip the perpetrator to shreds!

Food was just ok but one dish arrived an hour after we had finished eating- the waitress didn't charge us for it but the experience was tarnished.

The owner's greeting on the entrance "65 million people in this country - why me?" should tell you all you need to know about the experience you are about to have!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barioja Tapas Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barioja Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.