We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Apartment

The Apartment
7-13 Barclay Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HW, Scotland (Bruntsfield)
+44 (0)131 228 6456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bruntsfield
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Despite living nearby for a while I had never noticed this place. Visited with a mate last night and was very impressed.

The menu is great value with two courses for £12 and three courses for £15. The food is excellent, and very well presented and the staff are very friendly and very attentive.

I will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    36
    45
    25
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Birthday meal with 14 people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Came here for a birthday meal with a party of 14.

Service was very friendly and attentive with the wine flowing and regular filling up of water glasses. Whenever the wine bottles were emptied, new ones were brought over.

Starter was breaded monkfish cheek with potato salad - thought it sounded pretty special, something different, so went for it. When it came, was really quite bland and there were only 4 small pieces. For £6.70, I think there should be quite a bit more on the plate. It tasted OK, nothing spectacular and have had better cooked monkfish. Perhaps it being breaded led to it not being quite as succulent as I had hoped when ordering.

For main, I ordered the daily special which was a haunch of venison with beetroot potato (or something like that) and different garnishes. Also got a side of sweet potato fries. The venison wasn't as tender as I had hoped, the potato mixture was pretty bland, but the mustardy sauce/dressing at the side made up for this - that was really quite tasty and could have done with more of that to spice up the taste factor a little. The sweet potato fries were pretty atrocious. I love sweet potato and I love fries. These were undercooked. i think they had been forgotten about and then I had to mention to waitress and they came out 5 minutes later. Very undercooked and no hint of a crispy crunch. Really disappointed with these for £3.50 or so.

Overall, despite the food lacking based on the price (not including the £2 service charge which is imposed, unfortunately, upon parties of more than 8) I was quite happy with my experience at the Apartment. We did make a lot of noise as we were a big party and the waitresses were understanding.

Also allowed us to serve the birthday girl with a cake, candles and all and we sang Happy birthday which was definitely quite loud.

Perhaps next time, they'll put the younger party in the private room (as we were always going to be loud) and the older party can go upstairs as they are a bit more civil and reserved!

Will probably come back, but maybe for lunch instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favourite Edinburgh restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've been eating at The Apartment for a couple of years now and it's going from strength to strength. The restaurant is cool and slick, very nicely decorated with a warm, cosy feeling. The menu is awesome and all laid out on one sheet of paper which makes it easy to negotiate - one half of the menu is dedicated to their 2 courses for £12 deal or 3 courses for £18 deal, from which you can choose from a selection of starters, mains and dessert, whilst the other half of the menu provides a list of daily specials and a more extensive list of starters and mains. The staff are really cool and attentive, don't hassle you too much but always there to take our plates on time/top up our glasses. It's pretty busy on a friday/saturday night but we've never had to wait longer than 20minutes for a course. Overally I would say this is one of the best restaurants in town, reasonably priced and a cool place for a romantic meal. The steaks are good in particular!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
“Not impressed with food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place used to be nice for a lunch out or evening meal. Under new management the food quality has deteriorated and they appear to be cutting corners on portion size. Staff are friendly and efficient, but sadly this is all that could be said to recommend it. Main course sizes were inconsistent in size - the mushroom risotto looking like a starter. Chips were over salted and chicken and prawn skewer was tasteless, over cooked and rubbery. Dessert portions honestly could not have been smaller.

This is such a shame as it used to be one of our favourite places to eat. We will. to be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bustling yet personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner last night. Manager Chris took great care of us as did any number of well-trained personable and efficient staff. Will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apartment also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.