We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere, but limited menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iglu

Iglu
2b Jamaica St, Edinburgh EH3 6HH, Scotland (New Town)
0131 476 5333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Iglu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #520 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish, British, Gastropub, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Located in a back street 10 mins walk from Princes Street away from the tourist prices. Award winning Scottish food with French and Italian influences. Iglu is famous for using wonderful local produce, much of it being organic and bought directly from artisan producers.We are rated as one of the best places to eat Scottish food in Edinburgh - and there is pretty tough competition - most of the others charge a lot more! Our food has featured in the Michelin guide, we won gastropub of the year, best sunday lunch and many other awards! We think it is great honest food maximizing the flavours of the high quality produce.Cosy and relaxed Iglu is in the historic World Heritage Site Edinburgh New Town. There is a street level bar with real stone walls, Black Isle organic beers on tap (Iglu was the first place in Edinburgh to put them on tap)hand crafted Scottish oak tables and bar tops. There are Oak holders for glass Demijohns contaning hand made Scottish fruit liquers.You can eat in the bar which can seat twenty people here or in the dining room upstairs which seats up to thirty people.Service for us is important - we try and be there for you but not overly attentative. I hope you enjoy your time at Iglu - and tell the world about us! Charlie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere, but limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Iglu comprises a small bar downstairs, and the restaurant upstairs. It's a small place with good atmosphere. When we visited, the staff were friendly.

However we were a little caught out by the festive menu, as it was very heavy on fish and game (squid, gravadlax, game terrine, venison, fish stew etc). This left us struggling to find something that appealed to us.

Having said that, the turkey dish that I eventually settled on was absolutely superb.

So overall we really enjoyed it, but if you're a choosy eater you should check the menus before you book and be aware that they change frequently!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    89
    45
    10
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great meal and bigger portions now!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Back to iglu for my third visit and took friends this time.
Great atmosphere and nice choice of meals. My husband asked for a variation from the menu and it was handled perfectly.
The food isn't cheap when you're not on an offer so I was pleased to see that the portions were much bigger than last time when I was left feeling slightly unsatisfied.
Service was a bit slow given that it wasn't that busy, but at least that meant we had our table for several hours on a Saturday night when you would have been rushed through for a second seating elsewhere
Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trek to find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here last night with my husband and son..3 courses for £16. Portion size wasn't huge but we were satisfied because we had the 3 courses. My starter of Pear and Blue Cheese was tasty , a bit scarce with the cheese though. My son had the Crispy Squid, very good.
For mains, 2 of us had the Venison and Shin Beef pie...very good, tender Beef, wholesome food. The other Main we had was Haunch of Venison, very nice..but not a lot on the plate.
Desserts were gorgeous, 2 portions of Chocolate Delice, beautifully presented as a skinny long rectangle with a Praline Base.
My Sticky Date Pudding was gorgeous....nice and generous too. Wine was worth the price at £18, couldnt expect too much from it..
Over all....a charming spot...excellent wholesome food....charming Spanish Waitress...would love to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“a quality meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We returned after more than a year. The menu has changed considerably but now gives a wider selaction. We chose the tapas which was excellent, a very good choice. It was lovely that it include 2 sweets. 3 tapas was more than enough for lunch. The atmosphere was good and the service excellent.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Intimate and casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location is slightly hidden off the main drag but worth a walk. It is a welcome relaxation from the more glamorous restaurants of George Street and the like. We ordered wine, at £18 a bottle, not too much of a selection for wine lovers but the food was a better deal with a 3 choice tapas selection for £9. there was a main menu too which looked good. Our evening was excellent and well worth it with very tasty food. It is a small restaurant and at times during our mid week visit the restaurant became busy but we didn't feel crowded. The restaurant has started to open up their upper floor in the evening now rather than just for private functions, but that is still available at lunch times/afternoons. It felt like a place frequented by locals 'in the know'. I've been back several times and will do again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglu also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Iglu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.