We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park

Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lothian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park
Dunbar Rd, EH39 5NJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
West Lothian
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Have stayed at Tantallon on numerous occasions, the views are unbeatable. It looks over the Forth river to the Bass rock. The bird warching is superb. It is becoming a little pricey with various charges for children, pets and your canopy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed at this site several times over the past couple of years and have enyoyed each visit. The campsite is clean and well laid out and the washing facilities are sufficient, clean and tidy. There is the beneift of having a Tesco supermarket 5 mins walk away should you forget/require anything during your stay. The only drawback that I have found is that some of the pitches are located next to the road that leads in to North Berwick. Whilst you cant actually see this road or the traffic from the site, if your pitch is at this section of the site, be prepared to be awoke by the sounds of traffic early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

stayed in a wigwam for one night one route further north. Beautiful location. Clean and nicely laid out site. Friendly and helpful welcome on arrival. The four wigwams are located together near a shared kitchen and the toilet block. The wigwam is spacious, clean and comfortable. It could have done with some a couple of hooks for hanging jackets and so on. The shared kitchen provides a fridge, freezer, toasters, kettles and mini cooking rings. You need a key to get in so its nice and quiet! Ideally it could have a sink and water tap in there also. The toilet block let the site down after such a great first impression with everything else. No soap tray in the shower, only one small hook to leave all clothes, towel etc on. Not very water 'tight as a short shower curtain'. No private cubicles for sinks. Soap dispensers not filled and cleaning not appeared to be done very frequently. If we had been here a week this woud have been a let down. They could do with getting a few families with young children to give them some feedback and make a few small improvements.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend in one of the wigwams. it said the wigwams slept a family of 5, but tbh we were struggling just the two of us. We were also lead to believe the check in time was any time from 4pm-8pm, so we arrived at 6pm. only to find the the office had closed, and we had to call the night manager to get us our keys. as we had planned to rent sleeping bags and pillows too from reception, we were in a bit of a pickle. had to call the night manager again and get him to bring us two (which we suspect were from his own personal collection). The resort is quite far away from the town and any restaurants, which was disappointing. Shower blocks were clean enough (cob webs everywhere tho). With the wigwams we were entitled to use of the kitchen, which just consisted of a kettle, toaster and a microwave. we thought there would be cutlery/dishes for us to use, but no. so we had to buy paper plates and plastic cutlery and cups etc from tesco

all in all, trip was nice, nice scenery, nice area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Dunbar Rd, EH39 5NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty lodging in East Lothian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list