We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative and entertaining talk 2pm Saturdays!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirleton Castle & Garden

Dirleton Castle & Garden
Dirleton Road, EH39 5ER, Scotland
01620 850 330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 attractions in East Lothian
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very informative and entertaining talk 2pm Saturdays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We accidentally timed our visit just right on Saturday to coincide with a talk that takes place just once on a Saturday. The manager of the castle and garden's was dressed up in armour and had armfuls of props which he used to talk through various medieval stories. Whilst I am not the biggest history fan, I sat for 45 minutes, listening while he told stories of various weapons, ways of life and catch phrases that were coined around the time that the castle was established. Thoroughly enjoyed this and learnt a lot. Even the children in other groups around us, sat and listened because the delivery was so appropriate for such a range of ages. He finished his talk by firing a couple of shots from one of the weapons.
The talk was done inside one of the rooms in the castle for the comfort of the visitors because of the unpredictable weather outside. Depsite this, the day brightened and we enjoyed exploring the castle - for there really are many rooms, stairways and passageways to explore.
Also loved the beautiful flowers that you see on entrance to the grounds. These were very well kept and were thriving with bees etc. Great for snapping photographs!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well preserved with a lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped at Dirleton Castle & Garden at the end of a day visiting ruins in the borders. We were expecting "another castle ruin" but found so much more. The gardens are beautiful and the castle is very well preserved with numerous rooms for exploration. Parking is free and access is easy. Entrance to the castle is across a bridge into the castle's main gate. From the 13th century keep to the 16th century main house, Dirleton shows how castles evolved over the centuries of use.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots of hidey holes to explore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a fun castle to explore - just when you thought you were done there was more to see! Great for any history junkie. The gardens are beautiful. A special thank you to Becky for her gracious assistance in teaching me the difference between the various coins. The shop is quite lovely and was fun to browse (and buy). We took advantage of purchasing the Historic Scotland annual membership before we left Canada; if you're planning to see a lot of castles etc. look into it. You also get a discount at the gift shops and in any of their restaurants. Lots of climbing about so if there are mobility issues, check with Historic Scotland before visiting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Whit a crackin wee Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Except, it isn't very wee at all. It is a bit bigger than it looks from the outside(no, it's not a tardis), full of history, and a great place to explore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“It’s bigger than you think and steeped in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dirleton Castle is only a few miles from where I stay but I have only ever visited once before many years ago. In fact it was so long ago, I really don’t have much recollection about it!!

So, on a lovely sunny day recently, my husband and I took ourselves off there for a visit and what a pleasant surprise it was! After paying our entrance fees (my very first concessionary ticket!!) we walked through the beautiful informal garden to the castle. It has a commanding view of the surrounding East Lothian countryside and has loads of nooks and crannies to explore. It looks quite small from the outside, but it really is bigger than you think and is well worth a visit. You can follow the history of the different families that were in residence right from the 13th century through to the 16th century. It’s an absolutely fascinating place to visit, just steeped in history.

As well as exploring the castle, you can then also have a look at the informal garden and the woodland area, which is all very nice and superbly tended by the gardeners.

There is not a car park at the castle, but there is off-street parking in the village itself, which is only a short walk to the castle entrance. There’s a little gift shop too and you can buy a very reasonably priced souvenir guide to the castle and gardens.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirleton Castle & Garden also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Dirleton Castle & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirleton Castle & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dirleton Castle & Garden to your Saves list