We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memory Lane

Memory Lane
10 Bonnyton Road, Kilmarnock, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 76 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Restaurant details
smileyscot
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I visit this restaurant regularly. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. We always leave feeling very full as the portion sizes are generous. There is a wide selection of food on the menu. All traditional fare. The staff are all very friendly and service is usually quick. The decor is tired-looking despite being repainted a few years ago but it does not detract from the dining experience. There are no airs and graces here which is a welcome change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“great food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

went for lunch recently with my gran we had spring rolls and side salad then dressed haddock and chips which was excellent and was only £13-98 for the two of us staff were very pleasant and helpful bar prices are reasonable also nice place to dine after doing shopping at morrisons across the road will be back soon

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Christmas function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We attended a Christmas function at The Memory Lane in Kilmarnock along with 70 plus other guests and were made most welcome by the staff. It might be considered a bit out of town, just a 10 min walk from the town centre, but the meal we were served was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a bit out of town and I wasn't really expecting much, but although the decor is basic the bar maid was brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. We had the lunch menu at £6.25 which was great value for money and was very tasty. I'll definately be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“A Friendly Venue, Good Food, but rather tired decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Attended a Burns Club event here and enjoyed the substantial and good quality food supplied at the break. The staff were friendly and took the trouble to walk around and offer the remaining food to those attending, some of whom had limited mobility.

The 'pretend' coal fire is a welcoming feature however the decor is outdated and rather tired. Plenty of space in the building, parking is awkward however and the road is a very busy thoroughfare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memory Lane also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Memory Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memory Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.