We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Chau

House of Chau
19 - 21 Nelson Street, Kilmarnock, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 76 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We called in for lunch and it was really great. This is a small restaurant which offers both high quality food at a value for money price. Very good and friendly service
and well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Restaurant .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I have recently moved to Kilmarnock and spotted this restaurant whilst out shopping...We decided to pop in for lunch today and what a lunch we had... On entering we were greeted by a very friendly lady who took our jackets before we sat down..It is a very small restaurant inside but is beautifully decorated and is spotless...We ordered chicken and sweetcorn soup and crispy spring rolls..The soup was delicious and the best my husband had ever had...The spring rolls were super....so crispy and very tasty...You can tell the food is cooked to order and hasnt been hanging about in the kitchen...For our main course we ordered Chicken curry with fried rice and special chow mein...Again both were excellent...All ingredients were fresh and tasted delicious...The portion sizes were very good and my husband had to help me out as i couldnt finish all my chow mein...It is £7.95 per head for a 2 course lunch which we thought was great value for what we got...The service we got was fantastic....Not overpowering but very friendly...We will definitely be returning in the near future and would recommend you to try this fab little restautrant out....You will not be disappointed...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Restaurant in Kilmarnock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

House of Chau is a excellent restaurant if you want a Chinese in Kilmarnock. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Ayrshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Been visiting this restaurant for 9 years. If your after a good quality Chinese this is the place. The restaurant is small but spotless, an amazing wine list, the best seafood and friendly attentive service from John, Dorothy and May. Highly recommended is the perfectly chilled Tsing Tao, tasty hot and sour soup, huge hand dived scallops and melt in the mouth fillet steak Cantonese, could go on and on......keep up the good work, see you's soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It took two hours for the meal to finish. We were charged £58 for the main course alone.

This was for three half-portions for the kids and two main courses.

The restaurant manager claimed that it was because rice and chips were extra but no matter how we calculated it we couldn't arrive at the same figure.

In the end we paid £92 for two adults and three kids.

We had read the reviews on this site and had high hopes but we will definetely not be returning. The meal was only mediocre and not worth any where near as much as we paid. We had gone to the lawthorn restaurant the week before and paid less than half this amount and the meal was better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Chau also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to House of Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Chau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.