We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desserts pricing seems over the top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club

The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club
Fenwick Road | Kilmaurs, Kilmarnock KA3 2LP, Scotland
+44 1563 572678
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 80 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Desserts pricing seems over the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited here a few times now. I like it. This was an Itison steak main course 2 for £18. Whilst it was great I don't know if I would have paid full price. Added a starter and dessert which were lovely. However at £6.25 for the tiniest slice of chocolate tart it was overpriced. Our service was very attentive (we were the only people in the place) but at the same time discrete. This is not the first time I've had great service so well done on the consistency. Also suggest get a larger sign for the restaurant car park I've been twice before and completely missed it in the dark.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    21
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“delicious steak meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

took advantage of itison deal for ribeye steak meal, on arrival the glasshouse was lit by both candles and lights giving a lovely warm glow, we ordered our steaks medium when they came they were cooked perfectly as were the chips and mushrooms,in all a delicious meal. A good ribeye steak is hard to find since Merchants shut so will definitely be back .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My daughter and I went here with an itison voucher for an afternoon tea. It is a bit tricky to find but thankfully I had researched the route beforehand so that helped. The restaurant is pleasant and while the sun is shining it was warm and comfortable As the sun went down the staff put the heaters on and it warmed back up .Our afternoon tea was nice , the portions were dainty but adequate for us. My one complaint was that while my daughter ordered a pot of tea I was given a cup of coffee and then when I asked for another was charged for it. Sorry but I would have thought that if you are going to be sitting chatting for a couple of hours surely a pot of coffee or at least free refills could be provided. A minor point I know but it is the small details that mean so much. Would I go again , probably if I had another voucher but I would not pay full value for this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I visited the Glasshouse for afternoon tea which I had purchased as an itison deal, the food was fresh and very nice. The staff were extremely pleasant, I would certainly go back. My only criticism would be that signage is poor, and this would certainly pose a problem at night time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Afternoon Delight "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a delicious Afternoon tea served in the Rowallan Glasshouse, absolutely Beautiful location, Friendly and courteous staff, Suzie and George made it a most enjoyable experience, and we cannot wait to visit again. This time we will come for a Meal, we loved our afternoon,and will highly recommend your beautiful restaurant to all of our Family and Friends , Amazing experience, Thank you Rowallan xxx

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Fenwick, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.