We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Hotel
Rugby Park, Kilmarnock KA1 2DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“comfortable and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a short stay with a golfing group. Ideal location for local amenities and golf courses. Difficult to find anything bad about this hotel. Open and airy public spaces; rooms are big with comfy beds and good showers; staff are friendly and helpful. Short of the individuality that would get an "excellent" but nevertheless a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
51
9
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed overnight, ample parking and it seemed that the place was not busy. The young lady who checked me in was pleasant and helpful. My room was of a decent size with everything you would expect in a 4* hotel. I took a room service dinner and it was very nice, not too expensive and promptly delivered.

Breakfast was good as it is cooked individually for you and not left to sweat on a hotplate, again the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Even though the place was sparsely populated I seemed to have a clog dance troupe rehearsing in the room above me, not really the hotels fault, the constant walking about ceased at 10:30 which was just about when I was going to do something about it, I got a very good night's sleep.

I ordered a newspaper, which I didn't get, but it still was on my bill and they would have let me pay for it even though the lady at the front desk seemed to know that I had not received it.

Overall this is a very clean and comfortable place but it does seem a little soul-less and is in a strange place located between a residential area and the football stadium, however it was not hugely expensive and I will use it again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here last Saturday night as part of a wedding party. Efficient check in (very pleasant girl) and a nice clean modern room. Bought a "pre wedding" drink to tide us over in the bedroom whilst getting ready - first place I have EVER been where a pint costs more than a glass of Prosecco, so if your gal likes fizz - this is the place! Great piont though - Bierra Moreti! Got back to hotel after wedding at 1.00am - KILLING heartburn from the wedding dinner (not an excess of wine!!) and the night porter had Rennies!!!!! ACE Customer care! Sunday morning breakfast was a delicious and freshly cooked affair, not your "self serve" buffet lying in grease and getting cold under "hot lamps".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Got my company to book on the morning of my arrival, good clean and functional hotel, wifi all over and free! Receptionist was really knowledgeable and the bar staff who got me beer and food really friendly, will be back when the job starts in August, a pleasant change from the usual chain hotels and has a great coffee bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Afternoon tea for two only cost ten pounds. Choice of delicious sandwiches. We had salmon and cheese n chutney. Tea n coffee n lovely cakes. The sponge cake was delicious and we could not finish all the afternoon tea. Although we had a good shot at it. Great value and lovely relaxed atmosphere. Not to be missed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked this hotel to go to a wedding reception near Kilmarnock. Wasn't sure what to expect but very pleasantly surprised. Staff were very friendly and gave a 1st class service. The hotel was clean with big rooms and all facilities required. Super King bed and flatscreen TV with Freeview. The food was simple but very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here on business. Not knowing what to expect, was very pleasantly surprised to find a modern, comfortable hotel. Very good room, well appointed and with lovely touches like toiletries. Excellent evening meal too - simple menu with food well cooked with the five of us in our party all having different dishes. Very good breakfast. The one thing I was disappointed with was the gym - a good distance from the hotel in truth and not that great, really.

Room Tip: The double room I was in was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Address: Rugby Park, Kilmarnock KA1 2DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Kilmarnock
The Park Hotel Kilmarnock, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.