We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely fresh food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant, Symington

Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant, Symington
3 Main Street, Symington | Symington, Kilmarnock KA1 5QB, Scotland
01563 830307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for our lunch midweek for the first time and were pleasantly surprised. They have a special 2 course menu which was excellent value. The food was fresh and well cooked and tasted delicious, also there was plenty of it. The staff were friendly and efficient and I would highly recommend it. The only thing letting it down was how shabby it looked but please don't be put off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    15
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunlop
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Above average food & friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Staff friendly & efficient, food freshly made & above average standard. They do various specials all week & they are reasonable value. The establishment has a nice feel about it & it is in the centre of a nice small village, however the place is looking a little tired & requires to be refurbished.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been going to this pub/restaurant for many years now and have never been disappointed in the reception we have had or the quality of the meals. We are impressed by the spread of choice and price of the varied menues and the quality of the food served. We travel roughly 23 miles just for the food and the Wheatsheaf Symington has never let us down yet. Thank you to all the staff at the Wheatsheaf.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing find in rural Ayrshire.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I should think that this inn is a well known secret to the local community but for my wife and I looking for lunch somewhere on spec. this was a remarkable find. The village was much larger than I thought it might be so to find a pub doing such fine food off the beaten track on a weekday was tremendous. The beer was good as was the menu (for lunches-dinners as well). We had a straightforward two course meal with coffee - beef olives with fresh veg., boiled new potatoes and chips as well; excellently cooked presented and served whilst madame had a pot pourri of fish which was also well received and enjoyed. For this country pub to employ five chefs is I suppose a fair indication of its popularity and support. The menu was quite extensive as was the wine list (which I though a bit overpriced) but the food is excellent ad I am more than happy to recommend the Wheatsheaf to any other fortunate traveller.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly efficient service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As I say, the food's excellent and the service is Ayrshire friendly and efficient. Sea Bream perfectly cooked preceded by scallops and black pudding, followed by pear and ginger crumble also delicious. Steak pie a great success.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant, Symington also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant, Symington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant, Symington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.