We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Save
You added Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort to your Saves list
Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at Piperdam early November in the bungalow. The bungalow is very spacious with pleanty of room for everyone, home from home. Each bedroom is very spacious with two having ensuite, one with a shower and the other with a bath. There is also a games room with a pool table and a Wii. We eat in the restaurant on the Saturday night where the food was lovely with plenty of choice and staff friendly. The pool was warm and perfect size for a relazing swim. Piperdam is 10 mins away from Dundee. Perfect family break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    137
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
147
168
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west lothian
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at Piperdam,what can i say it was just fantastic. It was my friends 50th Birthday and we booked it as a surprise, we were staying in the Ospray which was lovely and cosey. The food was fantastic and portions were large. Staff were all really friendly and worked very hard. We did have to pay for electricity, but we only bought 3 cards (£15) over the full week. The swimming pool looked fab although i was never in it. I will definatley return to this resort and will be recomending it to others. The only down side was their is not a shop on site, so my hubby did not get his morning paper.

THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO WORKS IN PIPERDAM GOLF & LEISURE RESORT

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we stayed from the 5th nov to the 10th nov , we had booked a forresters exec lodge for 10 people , for a 50th birthday ,on our arrivel we were upgraded to the vegas exec lodge ,and it was supperb so clean and so warm , the hot tub was great too , we had a meal the night we arrived in the resturant with fireworks going off over the lake , fantasic night the staff were so helpfull and counldnt do enough for us , the meal was delishous would recomend it , the whole 5 days were great , great location great surroundings great accomadation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Recently returned from a break at Piperdam and I don't think it will be too long before we return again. On arrival we were greeted with the news that we had been upgraded to a Vegas Lodge free of charge and we weren't disappointed. The lodge has everything you could want, open plan dining area, all bedrooms were en-suite, games room with roulette wheel, blackjack table and my favourite, a snooker table. We also had the luxury of a hot tub and sauna. All set in a beautiful woodland with great views across the lake. On our first night we booked into the restaurant and the food was first class. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Piperdam is within close distance of some of the main cities and we visited Stirling, Dundee and Edinburgh while we were there. We went for five days and it's such a shame we couldn't have stayed longer. All in all this is one of the best breaks that I have had and look forward to returning there again very soon. A very big thumbs up from me.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a Monday to Friday stay at Piperdam for my birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could not find major fault! Brilliant location in the middle of nowhere so peaceful. We stayed in a muirloch executive so had our electricity included in the total price for the week (£349) the lodge itself was so cosy and a perfect get away for us. Lovely living room with dining table, kitchen was great for what we needed it for and also meant we didn't have to find somewhere to eat at nights as all kitchen utensils were available. Our hot tub was brilliant, we used it 3/4 times a day. We thought that the 11pm vacating time for hot tubs was very reasonable as you go here to relax and hot tubs were quite noisy especially at night when quiet! Lodge was very cosy, bed was massive and so comfortable. Bathroom has sauna in but we didn't use it, also has a powerful shower. There is a DVD player in the living room which is brilliant at night time so take some dvds along. Tesco is about 8-10 miles along the road and very handy for your shopping! We didn't have a problem with phone signal, not a strong signal but it was still there. Not something you really worry about when your away for a relaxing break though. Only 2 faults we have are no tumble drier so your waiting forever for clothes to dry, we hung ours in the sauna (not switched on!) also i think they would benefit from an onsite shop just for bits and bobs within walking distance. All in all though we really did enjoy our stay and didn't want to leave, will definitely return next year. Great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night break, staying in the Muirlodge executive lodge. We were surprised at check in that there was no charge for electricity as we had read earlier reviews where other people had to pay. Once we reached the lodge we were impressed with the pitch, the neighbors were relatively close but we still felt it was private enough. The hot tube was great and used every day but the sauna turned out to be a novelty as we only used it once. The kitchen is fully kitted out including a washer, dryer and dish washer which my wife loved
The only negative point is that it is more expensive compared with other lodges, but saying that we would definitely return here again
Overall, the whole trip was superb and would definitely recommend Piperdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from our third visit to Piperdam. Again we had a lovely relaxing break, this time in a lodge for two with hot tub and sauna. One or two cobwebs inside but other than that it was spotless. Really warm, in fact we had to turn the heating down! The hot tub is perfect after a long day sightseeing, really relaxing. They must have had trouble with noise before as we were told not to use the tub after 11pm, but we didn't hear any noise at all. We ate in the bar most nights, lovely food however on our first night we were the only ones in the bar which was surprising, obviously our fellow holidaymakers must be eating inside their lodges. I didn't get a chance to play golf this time, but I know that it's a good testing course,ideal for all abilities. We cannot recommend Piperdam highly enough, we will return hopefully next year.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Address: Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Hotel Dundee
Piperdam Golf And Leisure Resort
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.