We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly welcome and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fisherman's Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-16 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly welcome and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here for two nights, the room was comfortable and the staff very warm and friendly. The Arbroath smokie pie was mouthwatering ... Breakfast was good but slightly limited choices however what was on offer was good quality and tasty. I'd recommend this place to others and would definitely return :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
36
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Called in here with friends on a sunny afternoon for a few drinks and some food in the beer garden. The staff were very friendly, the food was pub grub as expected, but that's all we were looking for and it was very nice. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 8 golfers and no regrets at all.
Booking process was efficient and friendly.
Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good and dinner was as one would expect from a 3 star hotel, basic choice but well prepared and good quality. Reasonable prices as well.
My mates who are into Real Ale were very complimentary about the choice available and quality and it seemed very popular with locals.
One adverse comment, pleaase oil the sign out side the hotel, it squeaks all night.
But would I come back here, definately yes, as would my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Fantastic Inn with great rooms. Staff are very friendly, nothing ever seems to be a problem and they have a great selection of ales to go with a varied menu of excellent meals.
There is generally free parking right outside the hotel and its location only yards from the river Tay can give you great views if you choose to stretch your legs!

Room Tip: Have stayed in a number of rooms over the past two years and have never felt the need to even try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an excellent lunch of steak pie and smokie pie today. There was a wide choice in the menu and a blackboard with specials. Very helpful polite and helpful service. A table was reserved for us but it was quiet there today Lovely little pub. Very busy in the evenings and good choice of beers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The "Fish" as it is known locally is an un-assuming pub, restaurant and hotel in the picturesque seaside village of Broughty Ferry an upmarket suburb of Dundee.
It occupies a small but sprawling site on the corner of Fort Street and the waterfront, close by the lifeboat station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just returned from my first ever visit trip to Broughty Ferry (at the seaside and an upmarket extension of Dundee) I am blown awa not only, by this fabulous and very classy town, but also by the Fishermans Tavern. My huge twin room for single occupancy had everything I needed, including a full sized, proper hairdryer, heaps of lovely towels and a fabulous shower. I
The bar was heaving with locals and the atmosphere was busy. Great food and fantsastic service must keep this place busyall throughout the year. The staff are fantastic, knowlegeable about the speciality beers and local food (fish is big in Broughty Ferry and I had their Smokie Pie-made from Arbroath Smokie-delish)! The bar staff a friendly and welcoming too. Also,at breakfast staff were fantastic fun and could not do enough to ensure we had everything and more that we needed to have a fantastic start to our day. We were all so hungover from all our celebrations the previous evening!!!! A walk on the beach after a hearty breakfast did the trick and gave us the energy to browse the incredible array of bijou shops and boutiques. We hadthe best laugh, though, at a fabulous shop called Topsy Turvy. It sells beautiful gifts and the funniest (and some of the rudest cards I have come across in a long time) The lady owner i a delight too and didnt mind my friend and I helplessly laughing at some of the cards, along with several other lovely customers) We must have been in there for 20 mins, just laughing-dont miss any of these places if you find yourself in BRoughty Ferry. I was my first but definitely not my last trip to The Fishermans, Topsy Turvy and BF.
Just go-you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisherman's Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Address: 10-16 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fisherman's Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.