We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions matter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dundee Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dundee Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dundee Carlton Hotel
2 Dalgliesh Rd, Dundee DD4 7JR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“first impressions matter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

we booked in advance as their website was good and arrived at this hotel during graduation time in dundee when we arrived our first impressions of the hotel were very dissapointing the front door glass was filthy with hand prints all over it and when we entered into the small reception area the first thing we seen was all the dirty laundry bags lying at the bottom of the stairs (7.30pm they must have been left there all day )and a scabby curtain covering a door frame !! we immediately decided we didnt want to stay so my husband went to check the room and the door lock didnt work properly so we turned and left, but now it gets interesting after spending the next hour and a half looking for accomodation and not being able to find anything we returned to the hotel where the gentleman who runs the indian restaurant ajoined to the hotel was more than polite to us, ( the owner was not there but arrived later) on returning to the room we found the room to be clean with fresh nice bedding and a very niice bathroom with new flooring and carpets through out , we had free wifi and everything in the room we required for a comfortable stay. the owner sandra arrived and was really nice and welcoming , all in all it is a quite nice hotel but just needs a we bit of tlc and maybe a bit of reorganising to make sure people are not greeted with dirty laundry !!! I think the cost too is a wee bit high and this was part of the problem for £90 per night you do expect a bit of luxury our main problem was that we run our own B & B and our standards are very high so we expect the same when we go away .

Room Tip: we had the suite and it was refurbished so quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    8
    7
    16
See reviews for
12
20
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked to stay at hotel May. On arrival hotel appeared dated and in need of renovation. Worry cast over us when talk of fires and then allocated us to top floor!!!!!
Into room and on initial impression it had been recently painted and bathroom updated however the toilet was gurgling and the blinds were hanging off.
The only sight of the tandoori restaurant was when we legged it out the door. We did however pay for our room in advance. We just did not feel comfortable to stay a night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was a last minute decision and we got service with a smile, clean sheets and comfy rooms. Would actively seek it out to revisit, but cant complain either

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

On first impressions, the room was larger than normal and it looked neat enough. In the middle of the night we woke to dripping coming from the roof (we weren't on the top floor). Turning on the light revealed water dripping out of the smoke detector and then we were left in the dark as the light shorted out. We quickly went downstairs to the reception area. No-one was to be seen and we called the emergency number, only to get message bank. After trying the number of the hotel, which rang downstairs but didn't get forwarded, we tried twice more before eventually the owner rang us back. Her first response was 'is the bed wet?', 'no?', after which we insisted that she come and investigate. She obviously lives offsite, as it took 15 minutes for her to arrive. After arriving, she launched into a long explanation of how this had happened to a room at the other end of the hotel and had collapsed the roof of the restaurant - comforting!

Instead of moving us to another room, and then getting to fixing up the problem, she launched into another explanation of what had happened. After 45 minutes of being awake in the middle of the night we were a bit over it and asked for another room. We were moved to a twin room instead of a double (the only one available apparently, although there wasn't another sole at dinner, or car in the car park). This room was fine, but was only recently painted and smelt very strongly of paint. In both rooms the wind was easily coming in through the closed windows. It was quite draughty and cold.

Breakfast was adequate, but I wouldn't go as far to say it was good. When checking out, the manager was very apologetic and we appreciated her attempts to negotiate with the owner to obtain a refund (this took some negotiating with the owner as she wasn't willing to give us anything initially). Eventually we received a 50% refund for the room. I still think it should have been more. If these events hadn't happened, perhaps I would have given a better review, but the owners tardy response to a problem and her unwillingness to give a refund justify our rating. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed here because of the Open Golf. We paid £95 for B&B, which was good value as all other hotels bumped up their prices because of the golf - and we booked in November 2009! I was worried after reading the other reviews, but whilst there were some issues, the most important thing to me was that the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the shower was good! Reception area could be better and there were a few jobs that needed finishing off (skirting in bathroom, new locks on door). We found the hotel staff to be friendly and we had a meal in the Indian restaraunt, which was fine, but a bit pricey. We didn't eat breakfast as we left for the golf very early. Main complaints are that the website needs to be updated to refelect the hotel and small jobs need to be finished.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

too late to change having seen the review in June as attending the open golf and all hotels booked up. Yes it's been refurbuished but my 'Mr Bodge'. The towel rail was hanging off the wall, the bath was too short and the tap cover fell off when turning on the shower!! The bedroom doors are like cardboard and anyone moved anywhere above or belopw and you could hear them!! The old lady on the desk was down right rude! She had no idea what she was doing. After having complained she then promptly told the staff in the indian restaurant located in the hotel all about me, whilst I was sat having my meal!! Service at breakfast was slow! Only positive - it was clean!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My parents stayed here when visiting me and booked it on The Carlton's own website.
It stated the hotel had been refurbished and was modernised with large, quiet bedrooms.
However, when my parents checked in, only the front of house had been refurbished-the bedrooms were outdated apart from a flat screen tv and pretty small. When having a drink in the restaurant, we were hounded by staff to have a meal with them. Car parking is really cramped and their car was nearly wrecked by a lorry from the restaurant trying to turn in the drive!
The restaurant and bar are not even owned by the hotel-the hotel has sold that part, which has been turned into a indian restaurant and no cocktail bar, again which it said it had on the website!
The worse part is when checking in, my parents were told they must be back in the hotel by 11pm or they would be locked out!!! So we had to rush our evenings to make sure my parents did not get locked out-yet on both occassions, the restaurant was still in full swing and people were in and out the restaurant! This meant the place was still noisy while my parents were trying to sleep!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dundee Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Carlton Hotel

Address: 2 Dalgliesh Rd, Dundee DD4 7JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refurbished hotel offers en suite rooms, some of which have picturesque views of the River Tay and Broughty Ferry Castle. The New Dundee Carlton Hotel is home to Mercury Maia fine-dining restaurant and cocktail bar. All rooms are en suite and offer luxurious soft furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dundee Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Carlton Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundee Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.