We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Broughty Ferry

The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Broughty Ferry to your Saves list
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a small 16 room Inn. The staff was incredably friendly. (They left a breakfast on our door when they found out we were leaving early for a tee time). The rooms are small and quaint and clean. The food in the restaurant was very good. The pool in the basement was kind of a neat set up. The only complaint I have is their spotty wifi in the hotel, I think it has a lot to do with how many people are on it at any given time. But it's free.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is on the second floor. I think I would try for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    47
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
78
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We only stayed at this charming Inn for one night. But, I would definitely stay again. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and a lovely restaurant. We were able to meet both the owner and her son, who were both very friendly. Love the blue lights in the one corner of the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 20/05. Very nice welcoming small family run hotel. All staff were friendly and I felt at home straight away. Hotel was very clean and food in bar was excellent and appeared very busy with passing trade from non residents.
The hotels pool and sauna are a great facility to have in a small hotel.
Breakfast was very nice also.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night in May. All of the staff are very polite and efficient. The hotel is very clean. I had a single room which was very spacious and the bathroom was also a good size. The Hotel is in a nice location on a five minute walk to the sea front.

I did not eat there in thr evening, but have been told that the food is very good. The restraunt was full in the evening with people that just came to eat.

There is also a leisure centre available.

Breakfast was of a good variety and quality.

I will stay here again when in the Dundee area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Visited the Hotel with my wife and a friend for dinner. The meals we ordered were all plentiful and very tasty. Service provided by the young ladies who attended us was first rate. Surroundings in the main dining area lend themselves to a relaxing evening. Not the cheapest place in Broughty Ferry for a curry and we would tend to restrict our visits for special occasions perhaps. Nice to have such an establishment on our doorstep however.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel and were impressed. Our accommodation was just fine, the breakfast was splendid and we found the staff to be both attentive and helpful. The level of cleanliness throughout the place was high. We were in the area for a private function and did not take an evening meal but we understand that local people rate highly the quality of food provided in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our second visit to this fantastic hotel. I think its all been said in previous reviews. Easy booking and check in with lovely room on the ground floor which I had requested as my husband has slight mobility problems.The food is without a doubt the best hotel food we have ever tasted, dinner superb, and as for the breakfast beautifully cooked to order and very generous portions. Cannot wait to return on our next visit to Broughty Ferry. Thanks staff for a memorable stay. In particular the maid who cleaned our room to a very high standard.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and did not hear any noise. I dont think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#6 Business Hotel in Dundee
#9 Family Hotel in Dundee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Broughty Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.