We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Broughty Ferry

The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hotel Broughty Ferry to your Saves list
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed eleven nights, and sometimes when people just came to the popular restaurant or a party, we had a a few parking space problems, but that just shows you how local people love the hotel. The owners are wonderful people, the bar and server staff were awesome, the maids were meticulous, the food was excellent. We were in Dundee for a golf tournament and most of the people stayed in a high rise hotel. Our friends were very unhappy and paid much more then us.

The owners are there almost every day. Jeff and Gerry will be remembered as friends. Thanks for making us feel like home. Teri and Steve

Room Tip: We were in room 8 with bay window.... lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi Teri & Steve, Thank you both so much for your wonderful review, it makes the hard work all worth while. The staff of course have read your comments, they are really " chuffed " Hope you had a safe journey home, keep swinging the clubs and strumming the guitar !! We all hope to see you soon.
Kind regards Jeff, Gerry & staff XXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
34
74
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed St hotel brought ferry for two nights while on holiday from Australia. We found the room clean comfortable and roomy. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were impressed with the variety on the menu and thoroughly enjoyed our meal both nights. Staff were courteous efficient and friendly. Would recommend this hotel. The only negative was when my husband used the gym he had to come up through the dining room all sweaty and found that embarrassing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi you two from Australia. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it's so nice when customers take the time to write in, especially when it's a good review ! When the time comes, have a safe journey home, hopefully we will see you again at some time in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Lovely hotel. Phoned to ask if we arrived 4 hours early would we be able to check in & use our room straight away & the manager could not have been more helpful to arrange this for us.
Decor was clean and fresh and the room was excellent. Breakfast was the really good quality & well cooked.Could not recommend highly enough and would definitely stay again if visiting Dundee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Good afternoon Sylvia,
Many thanks for your excellent review, myself and all the staff really appreciate you taking the time to write in. It's a wonderful feeling when we receive a review such as yours. Hopefully we will see you return,in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having ate here recently I have to say the food is good but what let the place down is the poor and lack of any management. Instead you are left and an old woman with two tone hair and what seems to be her poor partner.Having heard the way she speaks to the young girls its horrendous , practically bullying . After seeing this spectacle unfold it put a damper on our night out. Won't be back !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
It caused me grave concern when I read your review. We appreciate positive criticism, that way we can address the problem. However your review was rather derogatory, disparaging and of a very personal nature. Fortunately, your remark about "the old lady with two tone hair and her poor partner " caused lots of hilarity in our establishment. The old lady and her partner ( her husband ) are in fact the owners who employ over 80 staff in their various businesses, they have been in the hospitality sector for over 40 years! We have a fantastic record of retaining staff, we just don't know where your claim of bullying comes from. On a positive note, we are happy you enjoyed your meal, please do let us know when you return, we would all like to meet you.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We could not get a room in St Andrews so stayed here. Really way above our expectations. Great breakfast included as well as good dinning room for the evening. Short ride to St. Andrews and the price was good. Little pub that fits the bill for hanging out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

3 couples stayed here over new year 2011/12. Excellent accommodation and meals. Friendly family run hotel, attentive and excellent service - along with the hotel firework display - made our new year go with a bang! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you all for your great review. Hopefully we will see you again at Hogmany 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely hotel which we could not fault. Arrived 3 hours before check in but were shown to our room straight away. Decor clean and fresh and the leisure facilities were excellent. Breakfast was the best ever.Could not recommend highly enough and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Hi Girls,
We really appreciate your comments, it's really super when guests take the time to write a positive review, By the way, I found the courtesy car keys in my back pocket ! Hope you didn't spend too much when you went shopping. We all look forward to seeing you all again in the not too distant future.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dundee
#11 Family Hotel in Dundee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Broughty Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.