We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Dundee Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee Central
West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with friends for 2 nights. Good location for City Centre. Excellent bars nearby. No food on sale at Travelodge but an excellent burger/kebab round the corner next to a Tesco Express. 10 minute walk to the railway station. Free car parking.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
12
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tain, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed three nights in this hotel. As with others who stayed, I loved the spacious rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location for shopping and nights out. Only downside was that being in the centre you will get noise from outside traffic and people who like to stay up all night. It's just one of those things that you get in cities. I would stay again so it's not put me off.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the city centre. It has standard basic travelodge rooms (seen one, seen them all!).

Good points -
It has a vending machine in the reception area with drinks & snacks.
The rooms & corridors are very large.
The two members of staff we met were very friendly & helpful.

Bad points -
The major negative is the open 24/7 Casino next door. If you are unlucky enough to be on the side next to it you are NOT getting any sleep (my Mum was on this side!) .

The carpark was not obvious/signposted when you see the hotel from the front (we paid £8.20 for carpark parking elsewhere! ).
Decent hotel if you want basic & are fortunate enough to be on side furthest from the noise!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were very helpful, room was comfortable, the hotel was within walking distance to the shops the theatre,restaurants and bars, in all I would recommend this hotel. This hotel is within walking distance from the train station and is in an excellent location for all the amenities in the city centre.


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have booked this hotel for a short business trip to the Dundee University. The staff was nice, the hotel clean and the room spacious. There are 2 small supermarkets 1-2 mins away (Tesco Express and Lidl) and everything else is also in walking distance (University, train station, bus stops, city centre). I would book this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's new refurnished hotel, comfy bed, good room, great welcome personal, wonderful location. Though of course I wish I made advanced booking to save money, then it'd be just too great. We'll definitely return


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August to meet with friends and it exceeded our expectations. There was ample parking at the back of the hotel, check-in was very friendly, room was absolutely huge lovely and clean and had a great smell about it (which I know sounds weird but theres nothing worse than a funky smelling room!) Ideal location and in fact we barely ventured at all from the immediate area surrounding the hotel as there was a Tesco, casino, bars and restaurants aplenty as well as being very close to all the shopping areas. Would definitely stay again and for £68 for two nights on a bank holiday weekend no less it was excellent value. Travelodge may just be catching up to Premier Inn standards following their recent refurb...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dundee Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Central

Address: West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel Dundee
Travel Lodge Dundee
Dundee Travelodge
Dundee Travel Lodge
Travelodge Dundee Central Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.