We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does this hotel serve breakfast?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee Central

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Dundee Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Dundee Central
West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 hotels in Dundee
Alma, Michigan
1 review
“Does this hotel serve breakfast?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have booked a block of rooms at Dundee Central, but I can not find if breakfast is served at this hotel. The on-line booking process makes it difficult to get answers to simple questions .Can anyone answer this question?

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We can confirm that all the relevant information is provided on our website Will N. Under each hotel page you will find a facilities tab which will inform you if our hotel has a Bar Café. We can advise that this particular hotel does not have a Bar Café restaurant however we do provide our customers the option to purchase a breakfast box which will have a selection of favourites which can be placed outside your door in the morning. Also due to the central location there will be a number of breakfast places nearby should you wish to purchase a cooked breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
7
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
842 helpful votes 842 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked a room here for three adults attending a University reunion over two nights in mid March. Having read some of the reviews, I was somewhat concerned by the recurring theme of guests experiencing a disturbed nights sleep; however, this was not too much of an issue for us.

Myself and one other arrived at around 3.30pm on Friday afternoon, and checked in without issue, and returned to the car park after getting the necessary parking pass - you also need to ensure that you park in the designated Travelodge area of the car park, as some areas are reserved for the nearby Casino, and the car park is patrolled by wardens, who will ticket your vehicle if it is parked in the wrong place.

Our room was a good size, with a double bed and two folding "camp beds", which whilst not particularly glamorous, were more than functional, and perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was clean, although for some reason, we had been left with only a single hand towel (no bath towels), and no toilet paper. However, the friendly gentleman working on reception quickly rectified this. All of the other facilities in the room were fine, although the television had an odd mix of channels, many of which were scrambled, surely in these days of Freeview, all of the usual channels could be provided. The bathroom was clean, with ample hot water, and a decent sized bath. Only a small bar of soap was provided, with no other toiletries etc. There were tea making facilities, but only two mugs and a frugal amount of tea/coffee/milk; with the room occupied and booked for three, a few more sachets wouldn't have gone amiss. The room was tidied and items restocked the next day while we were out, which was appreciated.

Internal security was good - the reception was staffed until 11pm, and clear instructions were given regarding access later at night; with the room keycards operating the lift, access to the front doors, stairwells etc. As our room did not face onto the street, we were not disturbed by revellers at the nearby nightclubs / Casino, even with the window open, (although I can verify that the manhole cover on West Marketgait at the front of the hotel is still rattling, which I noticed when walking down the road - although not a fault of the hotel, it is obviously an intrusion on those trying to sleep at the front of the premises). We were, however, disturbed about 3.30am on Saturday morning by some drunken men who were inserting their keycard into our door and trying to gain access, but were clearly confused in their inebriated state, and had gone to the wrong room - this did not faze me, but had there been a sole female occupying the room, it may have been rather unnerving.

All in all, I would stay here again, but would try to ensure I had a similarly positioned room to the one we had on this trip. A little more attention to detail from those stocking the rooms would also be welcomed; but in terms of value for money and convenient location, this hotel is more than adequate. It seems the main issue, and lowly TripAdvisor rating is due to external noise, otherwise it would no doubt be further up the gradings.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room, and one not facing the street (West Marketgait).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I knew there was a possibility of some traffic noise, etc as this hotel is in the centre of Dundee, but I wasn't prepared for the unbearably loud behaviour of drunken guests until after 5 am. Didn't sleep a wink due to the shouting, banging of doors, screaming, wailing and laughter of my neighbouring guests. I was exhausted the next day and the only thing the staff member said was that I "might" get a discount on my next stay. I wasn't angry about my terrible stay, just very, very tired!

Think twice about staying at this Travelodge, as it is next door to a casino and in front of a nightclub.

Never again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We hope all our guests have a comfortable stay with us N381HJTinaC, so we are very sorry to learn of the level of noise you experienced in your room. We require a night staff member to patrol the hotel at night to ensure that a respectable level of noise from our other guests is maintained and we also try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls. Our Hotel Manager will be made aware of your concerns so these issues can be addressed and feedback provided to the staff at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lovely large family room in the centre of Dundee, the room was spotless and I cant find any faults. The staff were very pleasant welcoming, we all enjoyed our stay. The free wifi was a bonus we didn't expect

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

turn up to check in at 11:30pm to be told i didn't have a room. i had book and paid for it weeks earlier and because i didn't have the confirmation code with me i was not given my room.
then when their mistake must have been evident to them the next day, Travelodge made no effort to contact me or apologies. I have complained twice and not even a phone call of acknowledgement. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Central, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We’re really sorry to learn about the poor experience you had R M. Unfortunately we had an unexpected take up of arrivals at the hotel. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by to the hotel as possible and we will cover the cost of any additional travel expenses. We want to fully investigate your complaint and offer a resolution, in order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotts, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Spent two nights here 9th - 11th February. Clean comfortable and airy room. At back of hotel so noise was not a problem for us. Ideal location only a few minutes walk from Overgate Shopping Centre. Supermarket even closer. Entrance from the street is shared with adjacent gym in the same building. This is used by smokers from both establishments and was a bit untidy. Not a good impression when entering. Staff on the desk were very pleasant and helpful.
Overall great value, great location.

Room Tip: The nearby casino seems to be a problem for noise, although we didn't hear anything. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

You have to sympathise with the management of this Travelodge. They provide large, clean and comfortably furnished rooms at reasonable prices in a good city centre location. My room was immaculate and even had a brand new bed. I wont return however as you have little chance of getting any sleep. The building is located adjacent to a "casino" where outside you are far more likely to witness local neds shouting and fighting than James Bond and his Austen Martin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are sorry to learn you found our Dundee Central hotel to be noisy gmac37. Regrettably due to the central location of the hotel external noise may be heard, however in an attempt to reduce the noise outside for our guests we do provide double glazing. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Dundee Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Central

Address: West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel Dundee
Travel Lodge Dundee
Dundee Travelodge
Dundee Travel Lodge
Travelodge Dundee Central Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.