We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
#WakeUpWonderful from £35
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great night's sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Booked this hotel through booking.com the same evening and got a great price. Wasn't sure what to expect, but it far surpassed my expectations.

Lots of parking space, great staff and above all an absolute kicker of a room. Clean, classy, spacy and modern. They are as good as they say.

If you feel like eating anything other than whats on offer at the adjoining restaurant, there's a food court/cinema area just five minutes drive away. Also there's an ASDA superstore round the corner to pick up anything you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Swindon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel, our first premier inn, for a weekend in July.
We found all members of staff polite, friendly and helpful. They let us book in early and everyone had a smile for their customers, a credit to the hotel.
We found the room clean, tidy, well maintained and with good facilities for this class of hotel.
The bed was large and comfortable as were the ample supply of pillows.
Although the hotel is not new, the room and bathroom did not appear old and worn but were updated.
The only negative I would comment on is there is no air-con in the room only a heater. To be fair we may have visited on the one weekend in the year where there was a need for air-con rather than a heater in this part of Scotland. ;-) There was a fan supplied in the room.
The hotel is well located on the main ring road past Dundee for easy access to the road North or South and the main road into Dundee as well as Dundee Airport. Although the hotel in right on the dual carriageway we heard no traffic noise while in our room.
We did not eat at the hotel but friends who live in Dundee stated that the Beefeater does provide a good meal.
More than happy to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great friendly hotel situated in a good position and good value for money. Would recommend and would certainly stay again. Breakfast brilliant, Room lovely and clean and really comfortable beds. Great



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here recently and our stay was very good. The hotel itself is located away from the city centre which would be ideal if you are passing through Dundee or using it as a base to travel further afield. We used the online check in prior to our arrival and found that this really did speed up the time spent at the reception desk when we arrived.

We were in room 26 which is at the back of the hotel and was very peaceful. The room itself was clean and modern. Our only points of note would be that the shower in the bathroom wasn't the best and the room itself was very warm, we had a fan on constantly. That said, I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room with air conditioning if you don't like the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a 2 night stay last weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful during our stay. The room was very comfortable and it looked like it had been newly refurbed. It was very hot weather and a fan was provided in the room which was very useful in keeping us cool.
The only problem we had which was nothing to do with Premier Inn was the couple in the next room who were having a very loud and prolonged argument in the early hours of the morning. When we checked out without having to ask the receptionist offered a refund. Proof that the good nights sleep promise is kept, much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FET186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear FET186487

Thank you for your review of Dundee West Premier Inn. The team are delighted with your review and are over the moon with your comments. Our hotel was refurbished back in February 2012; with lots of hard work by the housekeeping team we have managed to keep the rooms to a very high standard.

We are however disappointed that we couldn’t give you a great nights sleep as promised due to the guests next door. Our night team do frequent corridor checks but sometimes there are things out with our control. I am happy that the receptionist on duty had knowledge of the issue during the night and was able to help with using the Good Night Guarantee as promised.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hopefully you will have a great night sleep as promised.

Kind Regards
Owen Bogue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When was booking this hotel only few rooms left. So book in advance. Quality/price is very high.
+ best hotel beds
+ good personal
+ cheep restaurant close to
- no tooth paste
- no fridge
- no microwave

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sergii K

Thank you for your review of Dundee West Premier Inn. The team here are delight that you enjoyed you stay with us and to say they are of good personal has given them an extra spring in their step.

We have only had our beds for a few months and all our guests are raving about 1000 pocket sprung mattress with the memory foam topper and we are delighted you are as well.

We also do have kits, which have toothpaste and other accessories that you may require at a small cost. We can also store small things in our fridge within reason on request but we cannot guarantee this all the time.

Kind Regards
Owen Bogue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed at this Premier Inn before and know to ring the day before to ask for a top floor room, which we got. However we were at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park and were woken in the early hours by revellers returning from their night out, there was quite alot of shouting etc. Other than that it was all positive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#7 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Scotland's last working jute mill at Verdant Works or soak up some culture at Caird Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing