We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, noisy room, terrible online customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
#WakeUpWonderful from £35
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, noisy room, terrible online customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my wife and my children (5 and 1) stayed for two nights on a public holiday weekend.

We had a ground floor room just along from reception. The room itself was great, just as we always find with the premier inn. Unfortunately we were badly disturbed by noise from the room above us, so bad that the light fittings in the room were shaking, this woke both myself and my wife on both nights that we stayed.

Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was good and it's a great location for Dundee, especially for Camperdown.

We received great customer service from the reception staff when they were told of our noise problems, but since making a complaint online, both emails I have sent have been ignored. The online customer service from Premier Inn is terrible!

Overall, I'd recommend the hotel, but would suggest requesting a non-ground floor room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you found the room as you expected and the staff here provided great customer care. I would like to apologise on behalf of my colleagues at Head Office.

I would however like to discuss this matter in more detail and would appreciate if you gave me a call on 01382 561115 or e-mailed me on pitl.dundeewest@whitbread.com

I hope to be able to speak to you soon.

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed one night as I was on work business. Had the best sleep ever in a great big comfy bed . Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Had dinner in the Beefeater grill next door and had the saver evening menu, which was great value for money. Overall I couldn't fault any of it and definitely would stay there again if I was back up in Dundee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed at this Premier Inn several times and thought it was excellent, but our most recent visit was spoilt by very noisy guests in the room above us. They came in at 2am and crashed around for 2 hours by which time we just wanted to get in the car and go home. Apart from that everything was fine - very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a first floor room to avoid the same issues. When I asked about this I was advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for one night - very comfortable, very pleasant staff and restaurant food very good and reasonable. We did have a bit of a wait for dinner but the place was very full. Otherwise couldn't fault it and very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad you found your stay comfortable, here at Premier Inn it is one of our aim's and glad we fulfilled it for you. I will pass on your messages to the restaurant team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at this Premier Inn before and found it to be an excellent venue. As previously we found all the staff helpful and smiley. A credit to the Premier Inn chain. The room we had was well presented, with a marvelous large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your review about your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. I will pass on your messages to the team, I am also glad you enjoyed our large flat screen TV's.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Dundee West soon.

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I booked a room for the night with our 2 and a half year old daughter and considering the room for the night was only £35 we decided to book the all you can eat breakfast for £15 for us both, which includes under sixteens eating free too.
The room was very well appointed a very good size, clean with comfortable beds and far enough away from the main road for it to be silent throughout the night. Although that may be due to the soundproofing of the rooms rather than the location.
The breakfast was well worth the money, with an almost limitless selection and the service was excellent.
Both my wife and I were very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that you took full advantage of Premier Inn's deals. I will pass on your messages to the restaurant team about the breakfast you enjoyed.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was attending a function in Dundee & stayed overnight at this Premier Inn. The room was clean & well appointed, beds comfortable & everything for an overnight stay provided. Reception & restaurant staff very helpful & friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that it was a pleasant surprise. I will pass on your messages to the team here.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#7 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Scotland's last working jute mill at Verdant Works or soak up some culture at Caird Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing