We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dundee Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dundee Centre
Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £60
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Good Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights this past May and were very happy with our choice. The room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Our room overlooked the Tay, The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a problem with the internet time I'd purchased but the young fellow on the front desk really helped me out.

We had the continental breakfast each morning and thought the selection was very good. Lots of cereals to pick from, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, milk, bread, muffins, coffee, tea, etc.

My only complaint would be that there was only 30 minutes of free wifi. Not really a big deal, but we had been traveling for approximately 6 weeks and liked to keep in touch with home. After the 30 minutes was up, you could purchase additional time. If I remember correctly, it was three pounds for 24 hours, which was really quite reasonable but all the other hotels we stayed at offered free wifi for the whole time we were there. I later found out that all Premier Inns were the same regarding the free wifi.

We thought the location of this hotel was good and very close to Dundee City Centre but there is a lot of construction going on right now. Tesco was only a few minutes walk and it was handy for picking up odds and ends.

We thought the price we paid for the three nights we stayed (booked well in advance) was excellent however we found the fourth night (a Wednesday ), the price really jumped for some reason. We still needed a room in Dundee for another two nights so we booked a different hotel for Wednesday and Thursday nights. Not sure why the price jumped so much for a Wednesday and Thursday nights? I could understand if it was the weekend.

On the whole, we really enjoyed our stay at the Premier Inn Dundee Centre and would recommend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    111
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
111
24
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good location, newly refurbished, very clean and spacious rooms, friendly reception staff , power shower and lovely view if room is facing on the Tay. Only negatives were the room was warm , temperature was set and couldn't be turned down plus the breakfast was a let down, no buffet , very slow service then wrong order came. If you can book well in advance then very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here because I couldn't get a room in Aberdeen and Dundee was a good choice. The hotel is perfectly located with breathtaking views across the river and across the road from the train station.
My stay was typically Premier Inn, not a lot I can really add to that.
Breakfast was good and I was pleased that service began early, from 06:30. Evening meals: the menu choice was good and the food was tasty but slow to arrive on the table.
I have two suggestions for improvement; wifi should be free of charge altogether and the price is too high for a budget hotel.
Overall the stay was goodm, there was no audible noise from the busy road outside and I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: I am sure the rooms on the river side must have fabulous views but the rooms on the road side were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location - Good..
Breakfast - Good.
Clean functional and good size room.
Value for money - Good.
Only matters for our concern were that, despite what Lenny says, we found the bed uncomfortable and did not get a good nights sleep on either of the two nights we stayed and the only way to make the room cooler was to ask for a fan from reception. Also it would have been nice to know that there was no shaver plug available, which meant having to purchase another travel adaptor from Tesco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This PI was up to the usual high standard. Friendly staff, clean fresh comfortable room. It is set in a lovely position near to town centre, station etc. We arrived earlier than planned. The receptionist gave us a sticker for the car which allowed us to use the car park and go back later to check in. There is a lovely walk by the river Tay which is flat and easy going. (watch out for cyclists!)
On the Saturday night we had a meal in the restaurant which again was lovely with friendly staff. We did wish we had checked the times of the deals they had on offer as we had just missed one deal and were too early for the next one.
We were lucky enough with the weather which allowed us to sit outside with drinks. We would definitely use this Inn again next time in Dundee.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side with the river views are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and had stayed in room 3 of the hotel on the ground floor. The hotel I believe was recently refurbished prior to our stay so the room was very clean. It was however too warm during the night and we felt we didn't want to leave a window open all night because we we on the ground floor and passers by had very easy access to the window, anything could have been put inside the window. There was no air conditioning, just heating. Breakfast wasn't really worth the pre booked price we paid for it and we had too wait five minutes to be seated for breakfast. I felt the restuarant was under staffed for this. I would however stay there again due to the cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is nicely placed next to the station, although not the easiest to navigate to if on foot! Lovely room, good service. The Table Table restaurant next door does some good food, although service was very slow and sluggish. Overall a nice experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Dundee Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Address: Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Dundee Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.