We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Dundee!,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dundee Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dundee Centre
Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Dundee!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've been coming here on business all year and have found this to be the best premier inn in Dundee. Excellent reception staff, friendly, considerate and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant next door is very good, with helpful staff. The only problems ive found were no shaving socket in the bathroom so had to buy an adaptor from tesco and sometimes the menu runs out before 6pm reducing your choice. If you're staying in Dundee then this is the Inn to be in!!

Room Tip: If you have an early start, speak to the receptionist who can switch the toaster on well before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    107
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
103
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We visited the Premier Inn in Dundee last week and could not fault it, especially the friendly welcoming service of both the hotel staff and those in the attached resteraunt. We found the hotel very good value, with very comfortable beds and lovely views of the river. It has lots of free parking and is in an excellent position, right next to the Discovery visitor center. I will certainly stay here again because the staff were so welcoming and helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Good service from both Premier inn staff and also from the Discovery Quay restaurant with lovely views over the river as a bonus. Disappointing that the restaurant had run out of several dishes when we went there for a meal with friends but understandable as it was the bank holiday weekend

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our second time in Premier Inn, after excellent stay in Elgin, we had opportunity to stay in Dundee. Ch/in experience was fine, but as lady was on training it was bit slow and too much paper work. We were very tired and hungry so we asked for restaurant option and we ve been offered Table Table restaurant, which I wouldnt recommend to anybody. As soon as we sit, we were informed that they cant offered few items from menu, which is understable but no welcome, no smile and very fast service made us feel bit "not welcomed at all". Me and my husband ordered beef and chicken burgers which were ok. During whole time, nobody came to ask us if we need anything or if meals are fine which was very dissapointing as other customers around us were asked. When we finished, we had to wait 10 min for somebody, but as we couldnt fine him, we when to ch/out point to pay for our meal. Again no question about our meal, and we just heard: Thank you and good bye. We went out very unhappy.
In the morning we had continental and premier breakfast which was very good, we can highly recommend it.
We cannot say much about ch/out becouse reception was empty when we were leaving.
Room was very good maintented and clean, bathrom was fine. Bed and pillows very comfy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Dundee Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Arrived by train, and the hotel is only a few minutes walk away. My room overlook the road and not the river which was slightly disappointing, but it didn't cause any problems, minimal traffic noise.
The room itself was very clean and fresh, lovely bed and massive tv. Spotless bathroom.
Had the premier breakfast the next morning. It was very busy and the staff were struggling to cope, but they couldn't be faulted as they handled everything well.
The choice wasn't as good, and though things kept being replenished there was never any croissants or muffins available. I did ask if there were any croissants, but the chef had already prepared a lot and wasn't going to do anymore. Tough for people who came later. The cooked breakfast was delicious but there was quite a long wait for it as it was cooked to order, not buffet style as in other Premier Inns. Therefore the "all you can eat breakfast" didn't really apply.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Entirely predictable, reliable service and facilities in this Premier Inn. Friendly, helpful and well-trained staff, large comfortable bedroom, good value cooked breakfast ("Premier Breakfast"), and a good standard of cleanliness all round.
Location-wise, the hotel is slightly marooned by extensive roadworks going on in Dundee at present (May 2012), but most hotels in the city-centre are similarly affected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Usual typical good service I expected from Premier Inn - a cheery welcome, paperwork pre-filled and plenty of complimentary tea/coffee refills in abundance at the reception. Although there are various cards advertising taxi services, the desk staff were more than happy to arrange my taxi trips out to customer sites and to the airport.

Room warm and clean with nice views of the Quay, a relaxing and enjoyable stay when up on business. Despite it being on the quayside and close to a busy road, I didn't find it all noisy. It's an ideal location if you've just flown in, as well as those that want to explore the town which is just a short stroll over the road.

The only event that marred my last stay was an awful sewage smell at the top of the stairs from reception - even the reception staff seemed unaware of it until pointed out to them. I never discovered what the cause was, I'd left by then.

The TableTable next door is highly recommended, not only for quality of meals but also for their customer service - many people at my client site remarked of its good reputation, and it's definitely well-deserved.

Room Tip: South side have a good view over the Tay. Use TableTable's WiFi - don't bother paying for Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Dundee Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Address: Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#3 Family Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Dundee Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.