We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, slightly let down by breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dundee Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dundee Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £60
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thurso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, slightly let down by breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Arrived by train, and the hotel is only a few minutes walk away. My room overlook the road and not the river which was slightly disappointing, but it didn't cause any problems, minimal traffic noise.
The room itself was very clean and fresh, lovely bed and massive tv. Spotless bathroom.
Had the premier breakfast the next morning. It was very busy and the staff were struggling to cope, but they couldn't be faulted as they handled everything well.
The choice wasn't as good, and though things kept being replenished there was never any croissants or muffins available. I did ask if there were any croissants, but the chef had already prepared a lot and wasn't going to do anymore. Tough for people who came later. The cooked breakfast was delicious but there was quite a long wait for it as it was cooked to order, not buffet style as in other Premier Inns. Therefore the "all you can eat breakfast" didn't really apply.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
83
120
29
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Entirely predictable, reliable service and facilities in this Premier Inn. Friendly, helpful and well-trained staff, large comfortable bedroom, good value cooked breakfast ("Premier Breakfast"), and a good standard of cleanliness all round.
Location-wise, the hotel is slightly marooned by extensive roadworks going on in Dundee at present (May 2012), but most hotels in the city-centre are similarly affected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Usual typical good service I expected from Premier Inn - a cheery welcome, paperwork pre-filled and plenty of complimentary tea/coffee refills in abundance at the reception. Although there are various cards advertising taxi services, the desk staff were more than happy to arrange my taxi trips out to customer sites and to the airport.

Room warm and clean with nice views of the Quay, a relaxing and enjoyable stay when up on business. Despite it being on the quayside and close to a busy road, I didn't find it all noisy. It's an ideal location if you've just flown in, as well as those that want to explore the town which is just a short stroll over the road.

The only event that marred my last stay was an awful sewage smell at the top of the stairs from reception - even the reception staff seemed unaware of it until pointed out to them. I never discovered what the cause was, I'd left by then.

The TableTable next door is highly recommended, not only for quality of meals but also for their customer service - many people at my client site remarked of its good reputation, and it's definitely well-deserved.

Room Tip: South side have a good view over the Tay. Use TableTable's WiFi - don't bother paying for Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here because of the good Tripadvisor reviews but were disappointed. We found the hotel basic. The staff ,while superficially cheery, were not really prepared to be very helpful, and we found the building and furnishings slightly depressing and outdated.

On the good side, the hotel has a great location by the Tay and baths in the rooms, unlike several hotels we found in Dundee.

We suggest that if you plan to stay here you ring before booking to check you can get a room facing the river, as the ones facing the car park and road have a poor view and you can hear the traffic. Also, if you’re thinking of eating at the hotel – and we thought the ‘Table Table’ restaurant was OK - be aware that the menu is already fairly cheap, which makes the ‘meal deal’ not particularly amazing value. Having sat down and read the restaurant menu, we felt like second class citizens when the waiter cheerily whipped it away and replaced it with the very basic meal deal menu we were allowed to choose from instead!

Other things we didn’t like about the hotel – the smell of air-freshener in the public spaces, the non-descript background music and the lack of sound-proofing of the rooms, which meant we were woken by other guests talking in the corridors late at night.

A final good point though is that Premier Inn have a ‘good night guarantee’ and so will give you your money back if you don’t have a good night. Although the website isn’t very informative about how to go about this, we wrote to customer service and they refunded us in full, no questions asked.

Room Tip: Make sure you ring and ask for a room facing the river. You can hear traffic noise from rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Dundee Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This Premier Inn is ideally situated if you are visiting the city of Dundee. It is within 5 minutes walking distance to the town centre, and close to the main attractions in the city. (It is literally right beside the Discovery exhibition, which on its own is worth a trip to Dundee. The Inn over looks the Tay river giving splendid views.The accommodation is all you need for a comfortable stay. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. The service is friendly and efficient. Plenty to eat if you opt for a breakfast, including a great full Scottish (recommend). The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is a bother. Craig the manager was especially welcoming making pleasant conversation. All of this made my wife and I feel very much at home. Dundee is well worth a visit. Don't listen to Frankie Boyle. When it comes to Dundee he talks s****.

Room Tip: This is a new complex, all rooms are great. Some have views and some don't., you might have to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed last night within Premier Inn Discovery, Dundee. Excellent customer service from staff and room allocated was spotless in cleaniness. Room was very comfortable and spacious and looked out onto car park which there was ample spaces and free.Freeview tv service was great on large flatscreen tv within room..Very central positioned and restaurant positioned next door. Never used restaurant this time however used in past and was reasonable priced and good food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked a one night stay here for a weekend break in Dundee. The Hotel is a 2 minute walk from Dundee station, next door to the Discovery Point and right on the water's edge so the location is perfect. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the room was very clean.
The Table Table restaurant next door was also excellent, this was my first 'Premier Breakfast' and at first I thought it was expensive, however the value for money is superb as you genuinely can eat as much as you like! The fact that the hot part of your breakfast is cooked to order rather than sat under hot plates is fantastic.
Again the staff in the restaurant were really friendly and helpful.
The only negative thing I can say is that crossing the roads to reach the town centre can be difficult as it is near a busy roundabout but I can hardly blame the Hotel for this!

Room Tip: Superb views of the Tay from the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Dundee Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee Centre

Address: Discovery Quay | Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Dundee Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.