We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking 500 miles and the beds were heaven sent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Dundee to your Saves list
Malmaison Dundee
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Walking 500 miles and the beds were heaven sent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am walking 500 miles from Scotland to the south coast (Brighton) and after my 1st day of walking up over Glen Ogilvy, part of the Glams estate, the beds were heaven sent. Soo comfy! Staff were excellent and the experience exceeded all expectations and would have rated higher if I could have!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    94
    52
    34
    22
See reviews for
43
185
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just had an evening with family at the Malmaison in Dundee - what a beautiful hotel, we had dinner, bed and breakfast and everything was spot on.The staff were excellent and could,not do enough. I've stayed at a few Malmaisons and Dundee is definitely one of the best. Great location too and the building has been respectfully and beautifully restored.

One tiny thing is - they could be more generous with their bathroom goodies!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for 1 night last week. It is annoying not being able to park at the hotel even if the nearest car park is only a 5 minute walk away. Our rooms were all comfortable, although my bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, even if the bar does feel a little soulless. The restaurant was nice, and my friends all had burgers which they loved. I had the prawn curry which lacked flavor. The staff again were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental was adequate, nothing too exciting. Would I stay again? Possibly as there are many other choices in Dundee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Myself and husband (mr and mrs Newton) booked a large table for sat 10 may 2014 for a birthday meal for my husband. Firstly we were given a very warm welcome then taken to a private dining area (which we never booked). James was our main waiter and looked after our every needs. He was pleasant, professional and looked after all our needs. The food was excellent.

Also noted that Jack (our previous excellent waiter) remembered us and also looked after us. We were pleasantly surprised by our note at end of meal from jack wishing my husband a very happy birthday and some vouchers.

Yet again above and beyond in service, well done Jack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Having stayed in Malmaison in Aberdeen we had an idea what to expect but Malmaison Dundee seems much more superior. (Perhaps because it is newly opened)
The staff were really friendly upon check in and we were pleased to hear we got upgraded to a club room. Much to our surprise we got a lovely card wishing us happy anniversary along with chocolate strawberries and champagne (part of our package)
Room 607 is lovely, only has a small window which we werent bothered about, huge bed, bathroom and fluffy bathrobes/towels.
Ordered room service at 10:30pm after a couple of cheeky cocktails in the bar which arrived in half an hour and it was Delish!
All in all we will definitely be making another booking! Well done Malmaison!! X

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Attended a Dinner and was very disappointed with the food. Lovely surroundings and service was mainly very good. Starters were fine but none of the main courses was up to much. They had clearly been sitting and had dried out. A number of people did not get either vegetables or potatoes, or both, because there were not enough. The sweets were also poor. Creme brulee was neither hot nor cold and pretty sloppy. The chocolate flan was dry and although there was one small jug of cream it was nowhere near enough for everyone who knew about it never mind those who did not This is the second time I have eaten in the Dundee Mal since it opened. Not sure there will be a third.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed midweek in this great hotel. We had a club room which had a gorgeous roll top bath in the room. Loved the local touches with the Dennis the menace prints on the walls. Had a lovely view of the tay (ignoring the building/road work going on outside which isn't the hotels fault) and you could lie in bed and see the lights along the train bridge and the moonlight on the water.

We had room service which was tasty and not extortionate.

The hotel is very well located to the town centre and tourist attractions like the Discovery ship. Excellent location for shopping too.

The beds are really comfy, the room is well equipped with everything you need (only negative would be no conditioner for my hair, but that's a girl thing!)

The continental breakfast was included in the price with a great selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, brioche and juices. We opted to pay the £2 extra to have the cooked breakfast, again lots of choice with eggs Benedict, full cooked, kippers etc.

There is no hotel parking but a pay and display car park right outside which is £1.80 per hour but free from 6pm til 8am, we arrived in the evening and put money in for a ticket which covered us til 10am.

Overall a real credit to the regeneration of Dundee!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.