We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice rooms, food could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Save Saved
You added Malmaison Dundee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malmaison Dundee
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
edinburgh
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Quite nice rooms, food could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for 1 night last week. It is annoying not being able to park at the hotel even if the nearest car park is only a 5 minute walk away. Our rooms were all comfortable, although my bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, even if the bar does feel a little soulless. The restaurant was nice, and my friends all had burgers which they loved. I had the prawn curry which lacked flavor. The staff again were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental was adequate, nothing too exciting. Would I stay again? Possibly as there are many other choices in Dundee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    71
    38
    21
    17
See reviews for
28
144
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Myself and husband (mr and mrs Newton) booked a large table for sat 10 may 2014 for a birthday meal for my husband. Firstly we were given a very warm welcome then taken to a private dining area (which we never booked). James was our main waiter and looked after our every needs. He was pleasant, professional and looked after all our needs. The food was excellent.

Also noted that Jack (our previous excellent waiter) remembered us and also looked after us. We were pleasantly surprised by our note at end of meal from jack wishing my husband a very happy birthday and some vouchers.

Yet again above and beyond in service, well done Jack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Having stayed in Malmaison in Aberdeen we had an idea what to expect but Malmaison Dundee seems much more superior. (Perhaps because it is newly opened)
The staff were really friendly upon check in and we were pleased to hear we got upgraded to a club room. Much to our surprise we got a lovely card wishing us happy anniversary along with chocolate strawberries and champagne (part of our package)
Room 607 is lovely, only has a small window which we werent bothered about, huge bed, bathroom and fluffy bathrobes/towels.
Ordered room service at 10:30pm after a couple of cheeky cocktails in the bar which arrived in half an hour and it was Delish!
All in all we will definitely be making another booking! Well done Malmaison!! X

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Attended a Dinner and was very disappointed with the food. Lovely surroundings and service was mainly very good. Starters were fine but none of the main courses was up to much. They had clearly been sitting and had dried out. A number of people did not get either vegetables or potatoes, or both, because there were not enough. The sweets were also poor. Creme brulee was neither hot nor cold and pretty sloppy. The chocolate flan was dry and although there was one small jug of cream it was nowhere near enough for everyone who knew about it never mind those who did not This is the second time I have eaten in the Dundee Mal since it opened. Not sure there will be a third.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed midweek in this great hotel. We had a club room which had a gorgeous roll top bath in the room. Loved the local touches with the Dennis the menace prints on the walls. Had a lovely view of the tay (ignoring the building/road work going on outside which isn't the hotels fault) and you could lie in bed and see the lights along the train bridge and the moonlight on the water.

We had room service which was tasty and not extortionate.

The hotel is very well located to the town centre and tourist attractions like the Discovery ship. Excellent location for shopping too.

The beds are really comfy, the room is well equipped with everything you need (only negative would be no conditioner for my hair, but that's a girl thing!)

The continental breakfast was included in the price with a great selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, brioche and juices. We opted to pay the £2 extra to have the cooked breakfast, again lots of choice with eggs Benedict, full cooked, kippers etc.

There is no hotel parking but a pay and display car park right outside which is £1.80 per hour but free from 6pm til 8am, we arrived in the evening and put money in for a ticket which covered us til 10am.

Overall a real credit to the regeneration of Dundee!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Booked a overnight stay on the 5th April. Hotel and room were lovely. When i checked in i swiped my card to open a tab but was told it wouldn't take anything off my card.When i checked out i paid cash .Checked my credit card a week later and the money was off my card as well. Called to complain and was fobbed off . logged a complaint on the website to be greeted with the message " we will be in touch shortly ". Still waiting on a reply . The money has gone back on my card but its not the point . This is a pity because it is a nice hotel and i would have liked to use it again but ill go somewhere where my custom is appreciated. A simple email reply or a phone call would have put this matter correct for me but ive been ignored

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Booked to stay at Malmaison Dundee for our anniversary on 27th Dec 2013. Was contacted a few days before to say there had been a leak in the hotel and that it would not be open in time for the 27th Dec 2013. We were obviously very disappointed and a full refund offered. When the leak was fixed and the hotel finally opened - did you not think to contact us to let us know and offer some incentive for us to stay over after disappointing us for our anniversary?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.