We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fort Bar
48 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AB, Scotland
44 1382 779707
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 298 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Offers traditional pub fare which is very enjoyable and reasonably priced.
Friendly staff.
Can be quiet at lunchtimes

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“End of school term chill out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would just like to say that we had one of the more friendly experiences when we booked for lunch one Friday in late June. From the moment I phoned to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much bother. There were 20 of us and as we were able to pre order our lunch everything was just perfect. All dishes were as ordered and service was exceptional. Well done... We then decided to sit outdoors in the very secluded garden area and again staff were there to make our experience extra enjoyable. Thank you. We will definitely be back. X
Karen Hendry

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here for a few drinks after meal. I was very impressed with the high quality of the refurb in the old public bar. We decided to go next door, it was busy, but not rammed. The atmosphere was great. The DJ (Val) played music to suit all tastes in music. Well done to the owners.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friendly,great food,excellent bar staff,what more does a bar need,definately will be back for more of the same.
Great malt whisky selection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Fort Bar Broughty Ferry Dundee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

All I can say is this used to be THE PLACE TO EAT but this FOOD!!!!
has gone right down hill.
We last ate at the Fort in March 2013 a were disappointed as we had eaten there in the past and to be fair the food was excellent but that was a couple of years previous, the meals we received seemed to be of low quality and the chips very cheap brand and looked like they had been reheated even after asking for the chips to be replaced they were still no better,I hope for the reputation of The Fort Bar they sort out the problems quickly and get back to the high standards that people have experienced in the past.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Bar also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Fort Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.