We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercantile Bar Dundee scotland

Mercantile Bar Dundee scotland
100-108 Commercial Street, Dundee, Scotland
01382225500
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 288 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had previously been her with a voucher deal when we thought the food was not too bad. Visited again today. We could not get into our first choice of pubs/restaurants because the queues were so long with Christmas shoppers. We went to the Mercantile which was relatively empty. Should have realised why!!! I ordered a BLT on a baguette. When it arrived the baguette was cut in half with a sprinkle of lettuce, a thin slice of tomato on each half and ONE piece of bacon cut IN HALF and a piece put on each half. It was cheap but I would rather pay more and get a decent sandwich.

My husband and son both had fish and chips. Fish was ok but chips were cheap and tired looking and had obviously been keeping warm for a while. WE were served by about 4 waitresses - 2 of who were nice (one was Irish spoken) and 2 a bit grumpy. Not a great experience and we will not be back even if town is busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quick Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Came here for a quick lunch with a few friends, I ordered Soup and a Panini and my friend ordered spicy chips which were FANTASTIC! The staff were great, very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! All in all a great place, will be visiting again in the near future!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not go here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

While the menu has relatively low prices, the quality of food is appaling and deffinitely not worth it. The concept of enjoying a "quick, cheap and tasty meal" is not what you get here, as not only is the food poor quality, but it is consistantly late (~30-50minutes for a hotdog and salad!) and served by unineterested and poorly trained staff.
Made the mistake of giving this place another chance after first being dissapointed, wont do that again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montrose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wont go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

On the plus side, the barmaids were very nice. We waited 40 minutes for soup and a pannini, the soup was not good, the pannini was nice but the side salad horrible. Other people waited the same amount of time us we did - will certainly not go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and a few friends came in here on a night out the atmosphere was brilliant and the female staff we quick to serve us all night and it was good to see staff actually making an effort with customers joking away! will definitely be making a regular appearance here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercantile Bar Dundee scotland also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Mercantile Bar Dundee scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercantile Bar Dundee scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.