We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freshly homemade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T Ann Cake

T Ann Cake
27 Exchange Street, Dundee DD1 3DJ, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 288 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“freshly homemade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I loved that the cafe has an open kitchen and that the food is all freshly prepared and always have a great range of cakes to choose from. A selection of different teas and coffee are available to order and the cakes are a must try.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Dundee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Favourite place in Dundee! Best food and atmosphere- love Ann's affection for cheese and have loved seeing how she encourages her staff on a personal level too. Delicious cake!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“T Ann Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

T Ann Cake is a welcome addition to the Dundee cafe scene, which is unfortunately lacking (with the exception of the Parlour Cafe). I love the funky décor here – the mishmash of vintage furniture and crockery is a little bit different (in a good way!). But décor does nothing for me if the food and service are not up to scratch and T Ann Cake does not disappoint. Service is fast and friendly and the food is as interesting as it is delicious. I am particularly pleased that vegetarians are well catered for here.

We only discovered this place recently. So far we have sampled the tasty toasted ciabattas with brie, caramelised red onions and sliced apple (pour moi), and chorizo, garlic tomato, emmental and chilli sauce (pour hubby); smoky chipotle mole with squash, black eyed beans and coriander (pour moi) and Creole style turkey and smoked sausage filé Gumbo (pour hubby). The cakes are to die for. We have tried the polenta lemon drizzle cake, date, orange and almond cake and the truly imaginative orange, vodka and chilli cake. Yum yum yum! The menu appears to change regularly which is great – there is always a tasty surprise to look forward to! The coffee is excellent and they serve Teapigs tea (the pots are snuggled in cute little knitted warmers!).

Well done T Ann Cake!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a wee gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great atmosphere if a little cramped. Lovely homemade cakes and bakes served by enthusiastic staff. Love the mismatched china teacups.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a lovely place that does great food and drinks. The small cafe is filled with eclectic retro furniture and crockery, and the staff are all lovely.

My only criticisms are that the place is so small so getting a table can be tricky, and that it's not open 7 days a week!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T Ann Cake also viewed

 

Been to T Ann Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T Ann Cake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.