We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Travelodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   296 A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Travelodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night, due to a works social night, and can honestly say we would definitely stay here again! Rooms are clean, comfy bed and amazing helpful & friendly staff who can't do enough for you! I would of course request a lower room as we were on the top floor, which is quite hard if you have walking problems. A nice stay & look forward to a return visit later in the year

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
29
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here last weekend both the wife me and our five year old. This was unbareable. Slamming doors, laughing, swearing outside our door, shouting right up to 5:00am without a sight of anyone who worked there to tell them to be quiet! This was the first and last stay in a Travelodge. Do yourself a favour and book into a Premiere Inn.

One thing I might add, in my opinion most of the staff were pleasant but too young and inexperienced to be looking after a hotel. We recieved £16 compensation for a family for both nights.......lesson learn't.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel. We stayed in two different ones over a week and found the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a long road trip and this was a break.
It was fine as most Travel lodges are you know what your getting at a reasonable price. I do prefer the ones that do breakfast and when they cook to order even better. (This one did )
The bedroom doors seemed to slam even more than usual I would think fire doors so much banging as people returned back in the evening

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

After spending a week here and I also stayed before . I highly recommend to others , clean ran efficiently , I can see a good team working together , very helpful and friendly staff from management to cleaners , always smiling and making sure everything is fine with your room and your stay . They made me feel very welcome and I was there alone , best t/l I have stayed in and I've stayed in many ,also food and bar available
Thanks strathmore team

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

From the minute we arrived me and my group felt comfortable due to the welcoming team at the reception. Throughout our stay the staff were very warm and friendly and couldn't be any more informative and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This hotel has had an upgrade since the last time we stayed there - spotlessly clean, friendly staff and a comfy bed, what more could you ask?
We asked where we could find a good Chinese restaurant and were given a recommendation which we took up. It lived up to the hype.
If I have one tiny wee complaint about this hotel, it's that the door springs could do with being loosened a bit, the doors springing closed were the only noise we could hear in the hotel.
As a double room, it could have done with two chairs instead of one - the old couches are sadly missed but this does not detract from the comfort of the room.
We will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Location of hotel may look reasonable but don't expect to walk from the city centre unless you have serious hill climbing intent. Room decor looks tired and cheap despite adverts that they had a "fresh new look". Dust and dirt on windows and bed frame, paint flecks on bathroom floor, skirting boards and light along top on bed added to the unloved feel of the room. Window latch and bathroom light were broken(though staff were quick to fix light) breakfast is £7.50 per head and consisted of 4 trays of hot food with 2-3 cereals to choose from, needless to say we opted for the sandwich shop 500meters down the street and got breakfast for two for under £5. Upon arriving back to our hotel that night we were greeted by 4 police cars outside the hotel to deal with a drunk girl at the hotel bar. Although this is no direct fault of hotel it gives you an idea of the feel of the place. Let's say we were shocked but not surprised. Upon leaving the hotel we were advised to "pop the cards in the hole". This playground innuendo was clearly hilarious as the colleagues of the staff member making the comment could be heard giggling about it in the reception office as we left. Overall I would say poor room decor and cleanliness, unprofessional team and poorly located means you may want to try elsewhere first. For a simple one night stay as we had it was ok, though I wish now we had paid the £20 extra for the one in city centre

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Many thanks for submitting your review. We know the importance of offering a clean and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. We’re also truly sorry to learn that you did not receive a high level of customer care as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day. We’d like to put this right for you so please visit the contact us page on our website to allow us to investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Address: 296 A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Hotel Dundee
Days Inn Dundee
Dundee Days Inn
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.