We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
296 A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Glasgow
1 review
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we entered our room it was clear the carpet had not been hoovered since the previous guests. The bathroom could do with a refurb as there were a number of cracked tiles in the shower, the walls could do with a good re plaster and re painted & the silicone is untidy. During the night we could hear empty cans rolling about the ground with the strong wind. There was about a 30mm gap between the carpet & bottom of the door into the room. The breakfast was a disaster, there was no plates, mugs or glasses. We had to take plates of other tables and when I asked for some mugs, the girl came back with milk! I didn't even get a drink of apple or orange juice as they were no glasses and could not be bothered asking for anything else as it should be there in the first place. The chef took too long to bring more food out of the kitchen. The staff looked as if they couldn't be bothered being their. There was only about 5 tables so it wasent as if the breakfast area was busy. At the reception there is never anybody there and have to press the call button to wait for someone to come. Disappointed

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our café so we are sorry to learn that you did not receive a high level of service on this occasion. We would like to investigate further so please use the contact us section on our website to provide your contact and booking details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
20
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Moving out son in to university so wanted somewhere to stay cheaply
Fitted the bill perfectly. Quiet and clean. Great desk service - did whatever we asked of them in a cheer and helpful way
Late night bar was no problem.
Chose not to eat there but only because it was was easier to go into the city and we didn't want to get up too early.
Initially wanted a town centre spot but given the ease of parking here plus the quietness I'd say this was the better choice and one we'd use again.

Room Tip: a room towards the back may have been quieter but very little in it The road wasnt busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent two nights at this hotel, good location for buses etc, very clean room, toilet, etc, very nice pleasent staff, but the breakfast was nothing short of a monty python sketch!!!! Came down at 8am for breakfast, think the cook must have slept in, had cold tea, hard toast and very consantrated apple juice from a machine! When the breakfast did appear some half hour later it was hardly enough to go round the four couples that had gatherd while waiting for the food to appear!!! There was also an issue with people smoking outside, we were at the front of the building, and with the window open the smoke just drifted right into the room, dont have any objections to people smoking, but they could have a smoking shelter a bit away from the main building. Its a shame, because of these minor things we probably wont use this hotel again. Maybe travelodge could train their staff in kitchen managment as they are very good staff that they would do well to retain. When we went to complain at checkout there was nobody at the desk!!!!1

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the building, it doesnt matter about the view as the front just looks onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We want our customers experience in the Bar Café to be enjoyable so it is regrettable to learn of the lapse in service. We would like to be able to investigate further so in order to do so please use the contact us page on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staff very friendly,was ideally situated for our needs ,have stayed before and would def return ,Tracy on reception was very friendly and helpful with directionsbar area very comfortable and very tidy


  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in quite a few Travelodges and their ilk over the years. They are what they are, somewhere to sleep at the end of the day.

I had to stay in Dundee on business overnight and this was a last minute booking. I thought that I knew what to expect from this generic chain, but I was presently surprised.

When checking in the receptionist was extremely pleasant and chatty, well beyond the corporate pleasantries normally experienced, a phenomena that was repeated the following morning when checking out.

The bedroom was generic but very roomy. The bed itself was very comfotable and I slept well, more so than normal. I am not the greatest sleeper, but I went through the night.

It had a small comfortable bar. The food in the morning was what I expected, however ... why Travelodge cannot or do not offer a FRIED egg with breakfast is a minus for me.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are renovating a property in Dundee and have been spending quite a few weekends in our caravan over the summer. Now the weather is getting colder, we have been using budget type hotels around Dundee. Best offer this weekend was Travelodge Strathmore Avenue. The property has been recently updated - I think it used to be a Days Inn judging by the old road signs which are a little confusing.
General decor is good - due to refurbishment. Bedroom adequate for price, clean neat and tidy. Good range of TV channels and WiFi available.
Biggest problem is door slamming at all hours of day and night. They need to follow Premier inn style of quiet closing doors. Soundproofing could be better - ether were several very amorous couples staying.
One of the nights we stayed, we had very noisy neighbours who were smoking. We complained to reception and they were told to vacate the property. It seems they were not the only guests smoking because the smell of cigarettes pervaded the property all the time.
There is a small snack / bar meal facility which is adequate for what appears to be food reheated from the freezer. I had a pizza which was very disappointing due to being too soggy.
Staff were friendly, for the money, it is good value, but a little more attention to the food and perhaps an extra pair of hands behind the reception / bar area when it is busy would not go amiss.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is nice and clean - no fuss - no frills, but very good value for money on the deal we had. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, although very compact, was nice and clean with good pressure in the shower. The small bar area served a reasonable selection of drinks at reasonable prices and the breakfasts (buffet style) were very nice. Overall - we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Address: 296 A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Hotel Dundee
Days Inn Dundee
Dundee Days Inn
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.