We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Victoria Dock Rd, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall a very good choice for Dundee business travel. The room was nice and clean and the decor is very nice. The breakfast buffet is fairly limited but since I don't need much I have no complaint. It may sound strange but my only issue with the hotel is the lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom. It is clearly a "design element" but it is just flat out annoying. I know there is a towel for the floor but why do I have to worry about that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear hlsteve

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Apex Dundee, and I was pleased to read that over-all you have an enjoyable stay with us. All of our showers are designed with a glass screen and replacing with a curtain is not an option.

Thank you again, and I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to our hotel again one day.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    467
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
169
500
47
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I attended a workshop there the other day. Close to the train station,about a five minute walk. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Meeting room was very modern. I didn't organise it, only attending. I would certainly give it consideration if I was organising corporate events.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Allister1960

I was delighted to read your review following your attendance at a recent event. We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations.

Should you be in a position to organise a future event do get in touch with me and I would be delighted to discuss your requirements.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel while visiting Dundee University with our son. The hotel reception was clean and modern and the check in staff were exceptional. Our family room was a good size with views of Dundee quay. Unexpected bonus in bathroom - bath and separate shower - usually only found in 5 star!!
We chose to eat in the town centre but were bitterly disappointed!! On return to the hotel the restaurant was buzzing and we regretted not eating three. Had a pleasant glass of red - very acceptable wine list with reasonable prices.
Breakfast next morning was also excellent - really nothing to complain about! Staff throughout our stay were ' naturally exceptional'. If our son manages to get the grades for Dundee this well definitely be our stay of choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear 577Nicola

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel and may I say how much we appreciate your positive comments.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that you had an excellent stay from the lovely rooms and excellent food at the hotel to the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail will be shared with our team as they are always delighted to learn of our guests' experiences.

I do hope that you son got his grades and that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel the next time that you are visiting him in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay of 2 nights. The room was comfortable. It had a lovely view over the Tay, only to be seen when standing at the smallish window. Excellent bed, particularly enjoyed the quality of the duvet and the pillows. Absolutely first class. Good breakfast and dinner. Young staff, doing their best, very helpful and pleasant. A good choice for a stay in Dundee

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Tay, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear VictoriaSW1

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations from the accommodation to dinner and breakfast in Metro Restaurant. I was sorry to hear that you found our windows a little small, but all of our windows are floor to ceiling in size.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Somewhat tired rooms needing some attention to chips and dents and rucks in the carpet. Beds are really hard and not really comfortable. Generally clean but only the most basic of toiletries provided. No room safe and security lock on door did not appear to do anything. Light over the bed worked intermittently. Sleep quality was poor as rooms hot and stuffy as there was heating but no cooling and noise outside prevented leaving the window open. Both nights we were disturbed until about 2am by noise in the corridor, doors slamming and a loud gathering in an adjacent room, so not a restful experience. Further disappointment was the spa being fully booked the whole time of our stay even though we tried to book a few days before and kids under 16 can only swim at restricted times. The facility appears to be primarily for the gym members rather than visiting guests. On the positive side the buffet breakfast was good and bar area pleasant. The wait staff in the restaurant were cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Get a room higher in the building with a dock view. Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear travlr9,

Thank you for posting your comments on this site following your recent stay with us.
We certainly are the Number One hotel in Dundee as positioned on this site and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our Restaurant & Bar outlets and found our team friendly and efficient. However I am sorry to hear that you did not find our accommodation to your satisfaction. As you can see from previous reviews, we usually receive high levels of praise for our comfortable accommodation. Please accept my apologies for our failure to meet your expectations.

Should you wish to discuss this further then please feel free to contact me on 01382-309-460 or at stuart.grant@apexhotels.co.uk, where I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to demonstrate the high levels of hospitality that many of our guests do recognise us for.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was fine, but the bed was too hard, so I slept poorly due to shoulder pain. Couldn't fault the pillows, though. I always travel with my own, but those at the hotel were so comfortable I didn't need mine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear wilmahatfit

Thank you very much for taking the time to your review your stay with us, and I was pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team looked after you. I was sorry to hear that you found the bed in your room a little hard, which I have asked my housekeeper to review.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago so didn't hesitate to book it again as I really enjoyed my previous stay. Staff were very welcoming. I had a lovely room with a huge comfy bed, a bath and walk in shower and everything was very clean. I only gave 4/5 for a couple of minor gripes - no biscuits in the room (I only realised I should have had some when my colleagues mentioned it!) and at breakfast I had to discard 2 bowls before finding a clean one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear LoopyLouNewcastle,

I was delighted to read your comments following your stay at our hotel.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations from the warm welcome from reception, to the clean and comfortable rooms. Thank you for letting me know about the minor gripes, it's all about attention to detail which I will be following up with the relevant managers.

Please do visit us again on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 W Victoria Dock Rd, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#4 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.