We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible reception staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Dundee to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee
A90 Kingsway, Dundee DD2 4TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible reception staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here two nights over weekend and had paid for breakfast but had to have it refunded as breakfast starts at 8 very noisy drunks shouting at 2am the Asian receptionist was unresponsive to anything no welcome when u came in I know it's only a travel lodge and not a hotel but a bit of hello how's your day been doesn't hurt I will stay else where next time

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Dundee, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are really sorry to hear you felt disappointed with the service provided by our staff on reception, it is important to us that our staff are providing a great service to our guests on a daily basis. Your feedback helps us to improve our service in the future. We do hope to see you again soon at another Travelodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room was excellent and true value for money. Very comfortable beds and really quiet area. my children loved the spacious room. the room had a shower and a bath. very impressed. the reception staff were very helpful loved everything about my stay

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the easiest place to find, you pass it on the other side of the dual carriageway then go round roundabout and then i missed the turn as it looked like it just went into petrol station!!! so down the carriageway and turn and try again, this time i made it!
But then no where to eat as restaurant next door closed, so i had to venture to find food and go through the process of hitting the entrance again.
Very noisy as next to main road.
Staff on the upside were very friendly and extremely helpful, but will not go back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed somewhere to stay for the night after a wedding at Piperdam. Great location as this particular lodge was nearby- just off the Kingsway. Clean and comfortable as always and surprisingly quiet considering it's by a main motorway. Did the job just fine!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bit hard to find the travelodge if you don't know where you're going! Unfortunately the maps weren't able to decipher the exact location hence missed the turns twice.
But can't blame them. It was dark and hard to see the signs.
Very good location and next to a 24 hour BP connect which is great for fuel and breakfast (which we got from there.

Service was top. The receptionist explained everything clearly and also answered many questions of ours clearly included having knowledge of local surroundings and buses.

Room and toilet was very clean and tidy with plenty clean towels.
All basic amenities including tea, coffee, milk, TV.
Downside is no sockets next to bed.

Pull out beds were very solid and not comfy however we managed.
The king size?(I think) Bed was very soft and did get great sleep. Not much noise going around even with the a90 beside it.

But can't fault anything for the price hence the 5 star review.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

A very basic hotel with very basic amenities and far from city centre. Just one staff and no breakfast unless you call one orange juice and bread breakfast. Definitely not a family or couple restaurant. Would definitely give it a miss if on holiday. I believe a faux pas from my travel agent.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I have stopped at this travelodge many times, the accomodation is basic but adequate as all Travelodges. The only issue is having to drive to any local bars or eateries as there is nothing onsite apart from an Happy Chef.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as the Kingsway can get very noisey with Traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee

Address: A90 Kingsway, Dundee DD2 4TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Hotel Dundee
Travel Lodge Dundee
Dundee Travelodge
Dundee Travel Lodge
Travelodge Dundee Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.