We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dundee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Dundee to your Saves list
Travelodge Dundee
A90 Kingsway, Dundee DD2 4TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stopped at this travelodge many times, the accomodation is basic but adequate as all Travelodges. The only issue is having to drive to any local bars or eateries as there is nothing onsite apart from an Happy Chef.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as the Kingsway can get very noisey with Traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
11
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed over as I attended a wedding close by, The hotel was very nice, fresh and clean.Room was very nice ,bathroom spotless. Everything we needed for an overnight stay.would recommend to friends.The hotel was renovated last year and still looks very clean .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night whilst visiting family so only needed a bed for the night and no extras. This Travelodge delivers good value for this purpose although its certainly not a hotel "experience" if that is what you want.
Basic functional good sized room with bath and shower and tea/coffee making facilities. All staff we encountered were helpful and excellent. Iron and board supplied on asking straight away.
Only negatives were room was quite cold and no way to adjust temperature and duvet wasn't that thick either so cold in bed. Bathroom door needs adjusting as wouldnt shut without really shoving and then it was hard to get back out again!
Recommend if you are looking for a bargain no frills stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the back are quieter as it is a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I travel and live in hotels every week i have also stayed in travelodges many times but i have never experience anything like my stay in dundee travelodge - the room was cold it was dirty my stay was over two nights but my room and towels were not cleaned - the carpet was dirty - the tv was not working that great would i recommend this hotel - never

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel, Audrey R. We pride ourselves on ensuring our rooms are up to great standards of cleanliness so we are truly sorry to learn on this occasion your room did not meet these standards. We would like to be able to investigate further, so we can do this please use the contact us page on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Stayed there briefly last year before the much needed refurbishment and was hopeful that there would be many improvements. Sadly, hallways stank of Body Odour and the bathroom stank of cigarette smoke. There were trolley stacked high with laundry in the reception which made the small space awkward. No point in having reception staff as check in seemed a bit of a bother to them! Only used this Travelodge as the same thing would have cost £179 per night in Aberdeen. £49 for the night in Dundee did not represent good value, just a place to sleep for a few hours en route to Aberdeen airport!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We would like to investigate your poor experience further so please use the contact us section on our website to provide your contact and booking details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Great location and great price.
Kids said that the pull out beds weren't too comfortable.
Not too much noise from the main road either.
If we're in the area again we will definitely be using this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

If you are planning to stay as a couple for short break then this hotel is ideal. However if, like us, you are friends needing a good comfortable place to stay then you may wish to avoid this place. The problem is that if you need a twin-bedded room, you can't have one! You get a double bed and a put-you-up! So one person will have a huge bed, and one will have a tiny fold-out bench! So someone will not be happy. Otherwise the room was clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpfull. However, there will always be issues if one resident cannot have adequate sleeping arrangements!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee

Address: A90 Kingsway, Dundee DD2 4TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Hotel Dundee
Travel Lodge Dundee
Dundee Travelodge
Dundee Travel Lodge
Travelodge Dundee Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.