We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbies Garden World Restaurant

Dobbies Garden World Restaurant
Ethiebeaton Park | Monifieth, Dundee DD5 4HB, Scotland (Formerly Dobbies Garden World)
01382 530 333
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 288 Restaurants in Dundee
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dundee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The vast array of quality food available here is amazing. I agree that the price tag is on the steep side and think that the portion size on the cakes could be cut to reduce this as I usually struggle to finish what I have chosen. I also agree that the endless queing is tedious and needs to be looked at but overall the pros well out way the cons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aberdeen got it together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It appears Dobbies in ABERDEEN is thankfully a great deal better than the one in Dundee. Very friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. One of the best breakfasts ever, but it is a pity that the sausage is not available for sale separately for consumption at home, they really are that good!!
(I even tracked down the Dobbies supplier but they wouldn't budge)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great lunchtime choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been to Dobbies many times for lunch. The variety of hot and cold food, whether a baked potato, panini or a meal is second to none, while the choice of cakes and scones is amazing. Never disappointed by a meal here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Fine for a coffee but expensive cakes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Dobbies but generally just have a coffee and a scone. The cream cakes look very nice but are a lot more expensive than similar type restaurants/cafes. Have had a meal here in the past and it is generally pretty average. There are usually offers on for meals and snacks so check the boards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good food . Soup really good and value for money. However I have to agree that service at lunchtime is very slow and they are very understaffed and do not put extra staff on at lunchtimes. they can be ill prepared as well . On a recent visit they had run out of a soup selection and it was only 12 noon. We go here regularly as it is a nice restaurant with nice food but a few more staff would help.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbies Garden World Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dobbies Garden World Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbies Garden World Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.