We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ketchup Dundee - CLOSED

Ketchup Dundee
10 South Tay Street | DD1 1PA, Dundee, Scotland
+44 845 166 6020
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Good burgers and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited ketchup on Sunday afternoon. The waiting staff were very pleasant and chatty. Burgers were tasty, could do with more sauce choice as they only have their own ketchup. Burgers were quite expensive but used a 2 4 1 password so was a decent deal in the end. Will be back again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social-Ketchup, Manager at Ketchup Dundee, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your visit to Ketchup Dundee. We take all comments and opinions on board here.

We are over the moon that you enjoyed your experience with us especially with regards to service and food quality which we have been striving to improve at all times.

In terms of more choice on the menu this is something that we are looking at currently as we move forward so please keep an eye out for future changes.

Thanks Ketchup Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    48
    35
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went with my 6year old.We were not made to feel welcome.I had to keep asking for crayons ,water several times etc.The waiter was least interested and the service was definitely the worst I have seen anywhere.I had the lentil burger which was tasty but cold.
Standards are definitely slipping here and if management doesnt watch out, soon this will be another casualty on the Dundee dining scene.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social-Ketchup, Manager at Ketchup Dundee, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ketchup.

We apologize that your visit was disappointing. Customer Service is a part of your dining experience that we always strive to achieve and we are sorry that we have let you down on this occasion. Staffing levels are our highest priority at the moment so we can ensure that we always give the best possible customer experience.

We would also like to apologize that your food was not to the high standard that we set for ourselves. All negative feedback is passed on to the Kitchen so that we are always trying to improve.

If you could please contact us directly on socialdundee@g1group.com so we can discuss this matter further.

Ketchup Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cold food, dirty restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to try here for lunch on Monday with our two boys after it was recomended to us. Unfortunately we both got cold burgers, i sent the fries back straight away as i tried one when the waiter was at the table serving the food, they were stone cold. He then left us to eat our meal with out checking on us again. Both my husband and I's burgers were cold. The only things hot were the onion rings and kids fish. We decided just to eat the burgers as kids were hungry and we had to go. Fries re-appeared 15 minutes later once we were finished and were over cooked. Restaurant was also dirty; floor, walls and toilets disgusting and childrens toys need to be binned. I had to clean the high chair myself. Whilst the waiter was nice enough, he could have offered much better service if he stopped checking his phone every 5 minutes. Such a shame as potential to be really good, burgers nicely presented and proper milkshakes served in cool milk bottles. don't think we'll be back though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social-Ketchup, Manager at Ketchup Dundee, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ketchup.

We would like to apologize that your visit was a disappointing one. We were understaffed at the time of your visit and at the moment staffing levels is our highest priority so that we can ensure we can deliver excellent customer service at all times.

I also would like to apologize that the food quality was no where near the standard that we expect. We always communicate any negative feedback to the kitchen so that we are always improving the quality of food we deliver.

If you could please contact us directly on socialdundee@g1group.com as we would like to compensate you for your disappointing experience with us.

We hope you can move on and visit Ketchup again.

Ketchup Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited Ketchup in Dundee for the first time this week and really enjoyed the food, ambience and the service. We decided to eat here at the last minute for lunch whilst on a trip to Dundee and knew nothing about the place other than a basic description of the food served. We were both initially a bit concerned that only burgers appeared to be on the menu but decided to try it out anyway. The menu is mainly burgers but not your usual burgers and there are a few alternatives to burgers if you want something else! We both had the veal burger which was excellent and served with a crisp fresh salad and coleslaw. The service was quick and the chap who served us was friendly and efficient. The place was very quiet on a weekday lunchtime but there were a group of youngsters there and this does seem to be a place aimed at younger people (we are both retired!). We managed to get a 2 for 1 offer and although the food isn't cheap, we thought we got good value for money. Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social-Ketchup, Manager at Ketchup Dundee, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ketchup.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our burger range is extensive as we do try and offer something for everybody.

Customer service is something that we strive to excel at and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the service. For future reference there is always a 2 for 1 password and many other offers on our website www.ketchupdundee.co.uk

We hope you take the time to visit again soon.

Ketchup Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not the best!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sadly had the worst visit I have experienced in a restaurant. I went there with 31 of my sons football team and family. We pre ordered our meals before going there to try and hurry up the process as we were going to the theatre. Very disappointed with the food - order was wrong, the food was tepid and tasteless. We did not get our desserts as we had to leave for the theatre - despite not one, but several parents advising the staff we needed to leave by 7pm. Staff gave us a 50% discount for our trouble but I would rather not have paid for the "food" we were served. Have been previously and they coped with 4 people but struggled with our party. We even tried to help them by clearing away and trying to serve food!!! The staff struggled, there was not enough staff to wait the tables and we waited 1 1/2 hours for the food. It was no mean feat keeping 15 ten year olds amused while we waited!!! Don't eat here if you want hot, tasty food. The staff were very apologetic.......even the Manager admitted they were overwhelmed and not enough staff on.....not quite sure what part of 32 people in a party they struggled to deal with!! I certainly will not be back in either a small or larger party and I would strongly advise you to give this a miss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social-Ketchup, Manager at Ketchup Dundee, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Social and Ketchup.

We are sorry to hear it was such a disappointing visit. We can only apologize for the fact that your food order was wrong and that you did not have time for your dessert. Waiting an hour and a half for food is not acceptable.

Our staffing levels is something that we are currently reviewing to ensure that we can deliver the best customer service and food at all times.

If you could please contact us at socialdundee@g1group.com we would like to compensate you for your disappointing experience.

Social/Ketchup Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketchup Dundee also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ketchup Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.