We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Point

Discovery Point
Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA , Scotland
+44 1382 309060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Dundee
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Specialty Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discovery Point & Royal Research Ship Discovery A trip to Discovery Point is an adventure in its own right as audiovisual shows, computer-based multimedia and displays of the actual artefacts of the crew transport you to Antarctica. Climb aboard Captain Scott's ship RRS Discovery where you will follow in the footsteps of him and his crew, see how they lived, what they ate and witness their hardships and their triumphs. It's a fascinating tale of one of the most heroic voyages of exploration ever undertaken. A great day out for all the family. - All weather award-winning 5-star attraction - Hands on interactives - Computer-based multimedia and displays - Audio visual show - Gift Shop - Cafe - Guided Tours available - Open all year, all weather attraction
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good mix of exhibits that catered for the needs of all ages. The volunteer guide on the ship was knowledgeable and helpful. Good visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    140
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went with family and we all enjoyed the interesting information that was provided, loved reading about how much food was taken abroad for the trip. We also enjoyed walking around the ship. I have done this tour often but I never get fed up going back. Stop for tea and scones, very tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Plenty for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited with my parents and my friend's children. The highlight was going on the boat itself and seeing how life would have been for those aboard. The interactive displays were good for engaging the children and keeping their interest going. We enjoyed coffee and cake in the cafe on site afterwards, would recommend this for maybe partway through your visit if it's a cold day as out on the boat itself was quite chilly with the wind.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having been to similar attractions my expectations were quite low,but Discovery point was excellent.
The Staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant.The information was extensive and interesting.
The layout was perfect as you progressed through.A treasure hunt was provided for our 2 children(8 and 5) and kept their interest up throughout.The Cafe was also excellent and the quality of food was high.I would highly recommend Discovery point.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great museum which really brings antarctic exploration history alive. My 11 and 13 year old were actively interested in the visit, asking questions and enjoying the interactive elements of the displays and tour around the ship.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Point also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Discovery Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.