We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Experience

Save Saved
You added The Hideaway Experience to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Experience
Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Honeymooners Hideaway, and it was all I hoped it would be. Secluded luxury, though easy to get to. There was nothing to fault, the web site is accurate. Just go and enjoy, worth every penny for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
158
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend for my partners 30th and we both had a fantastic time, the lovers hideaway was amazing, we didn't want to leave, the hot tub was probably the best, sitting out at night under the stars with champagne was a brilliant way to relax an unwind :) will definitely reccomend and will definitely be returning, no faults whatsoever great service xxx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed a night in the Honeymooners as a birthday treat and had a really great time. The accommodation was of a very high standard throughout, warm, clean, spacious, homely, and done with good taste. We really enjoyed the spa area, it was the ideal way to spend a winters night, having a sauna and then enjoying a beautiful starry night from the comfort of the hot tub!

Although we live locally we felt like we had left everything behind, gotten away from it all, and enjoyed the quiet reclusion of the site. The staff were really nice and attentive and it has all been well thought through for your needs. I would highly recommend the hideaway to anyone looking for a romantic and relaxing break - spoil yourselves!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Our second time at the Hideaway.. First was in the Lovers, this time the Honeymooners.
Fantastic, secluded, luxury where you are able to switch off from it all and enjoy being a couple!
Highly recommend this to all couples.. We will be back x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful break away from the hustle and bustle in this quaint & quiet setting. Found not far from Dundee (15mins by car) you are far enough without being isolated.

With the countryside on your doorstep, the birds tweeting and even the sun out, this was a perfect setting for our Anniversary.

A lovely introduction/tour round the hideaway on our arrival ensured we were left to our own for the rest of our stay - however assistance was available if required.

A stunningly decorated cottage with a large touch of luxury, made it a joy.

Hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 day break in The Lovers Hideaway & we can't praise it enough. Indeed, we're struggling with anything negative that's been written!
From start to finish this was fantastic. From the fresh bread & fizz in the fridge on arrival to a spotless hideaway which had everything & more you'd need for a get away from it all break. Sauna, wet room & outdoor hot tub to clean, white cotton bed linen & fluffy robes, this was luxury+. The kitchen was beautiful & we found the books of information really helpful.
An unobtrusive, succinct walk round & welcome from the staff made us feel welcome & prepared for our stay.
The weather couldn't have been better & this made sipping fizz in the hot tube just a bit special! We made good use of the cocktail bar too & loved the small touches such as magazines, takeaway menus, cocktail book & DVD selection to the washer/dryer & gas BBQ. Everything's been thought of!
Yes it's a working farm but at no time did we have any intrusions & the other hideaways ( which were all occupied) were far enough away you heard & saw no one - bliss!
Can't wait to return & can't praise the staff & hideaway enough.
We'd rather come back here than spend similar sums going to some well known hotels/spas in Scotland that we've stayed in. This really is luxury at it's very best.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked 24 hours in the Honeymooners as a surprise for my hubby. Was an amazing night. Pure luxury. Totally exceeded my expectations!
We will definitely be returning. Highly recommend these hideaways for anyone looking to get away from it all and just enjoy each other ;)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Honeymooners' Hideaway. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 24 Hour Break and that you managed to keep it a surprise from your husband! We were really pleased that the experience exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend it to others. As you have said the Hideaways are a great place to simply enjoy being together. I hope that you find the time to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.