We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Experience

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hideaway Experience to your Saves list
The Hideaway Experience
Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Off Romantics H'away
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lauder, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epitome of Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 day break in The Lovers Hideaway & we can't praise it enough. Indeed, we're struggling with anything negative that's been written!
From start to finish this was fantastic. From the fresh bread & fizz in the fridge on arrival to a spotless hideaway which had everything & more you'd need for a get away from it all break. Sauna, wet room & outdoor hot tub to clean, white cotton bed linen & fluffy robes, this was luxury+. The kitchen was beautiful & we found the books of information really helpful.
An unobtrusive, succinct walk round & welcome from the staff made us feel welcome & prepared for our stay.
The weather couldn't have been better & this made sipping fizz in the hot tube just a bit special! We made good use of the cocktail bar too & loved the small touches such as magazines, takeaway menus, cocktail book & DVD selection to the washer/dryer & gas BBQ. Everything's been thought of!
Yes it's a working farm but at no time did we have any intrusions & the other hideaways ( which were all occupied) were far enough away you heard & saw no one - bliss!
Can't wait to return & can't praise the staff & hideaway enough.
We'd rather come back here than spend similar sums going to some well known hotels/spas in Scotland that we've stayed in. This really is luxury at it's very best.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you very much for providing such a comprehensive review of your stay at the Lovers' Hideaway earlier this summer. I apologise for the delay in responding to it. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed each and every feature of the Hideaway from the sauna, the hot tub to the kitchen and the gas BBQ. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the welcome you received and the information you were provided with, which is all with the aim of allowing you to relax and enjoy your stay in peace and without inconvenience. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and I very much hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
185
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked 24 hours in the Honeymooners as a surprise for my hubby. Was an amazing night. Pure luxury. Totally exceeded my expectations!
We will definitely be returning. Highly recommend these hideaways for anyone looking to get away from it all and just enjoy each other ;)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Honeymooners' Hideaway. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 24 Hour Break and that you managed to keep it a surprise from your husband! We were really pleased that the experience exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend it to others. As you have said the Hideaways are a great place to simply enjoy being together. I hope that you find the time to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

What can i say...my husband and i have just spent one evening at the romantics. It was wonderful! I feel like i have been away for a week! Hot tub was amazing and we made great use of the spa facilities! The home made bread was a lovely touch and the butcher pack was delicious! It is so nice to travel only an hour and a half from home and experience such a relaxing peaceful setting! We were not overlooked at all..even though the lodge is near to the farm house, it is completely private. Thank you very much for a wondefu nights stay, we will hopefully be returning soon :) xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your recent stay in the Romantics' Hideaway. I was really pleased to read that even with just one night away that you felt like it was a week! The privacy of the Hideaways is a key feature and I am delighted to read that you felt that experience as part of your relaxing break. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the bread and the local butcher meat pack. I hope that you find the time to book again in the future and that you have a longer break next time!

Kind regards
Claire Moncrieff
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A complete tonic, luxury and privacy. The hot tub was fantastic even in the rain! We generally have active holidays and breaks but having spent a few days doing nothing we are converts. Our batteries are fully charged now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay at the Hideaways earlier this year. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed the luxury and the privacy of the Hideaway and that even the rain didn't dampen your enjoyment of the hot tub! Hopefully we can welcome you both back when you feel the need to recharge your batteries.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a stay in the Lovers Hideaway, and it was absolutely amazing!! We were met on arrival and shown around the cabin, how to work different things and given some hints and suggestions, and from then on it was complete privacy. Everything about the cabin was perfect - from the hot tub, to the sauna, to the super king size bed and the freshly made bread! We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: The Lover's Hideaway is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for providing the comments regarding your stay in the Lovers' Hideaway earlier this year. We were delighted to read that you and your girlfriend had such a great time and that you found the welcome helpful in allowing you to relax in privacy during the rest of your stay. We would love to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for our minimoon following our wedding and what an amazing time we had. We stayed in the honeymooners Hideaway which was just amazing. Beautifully furnished, decorated and maintained throughout and we had stunning views. We had ordered a Tesco delivery online to be delivered to us after we arrived and that arrived about 10 minutes after we did which was ideal. The reason we did this was so we wouldn't have to go out again as we simply just wanted to "hideaway".
The hideaway itself had everything we wanted and more and the hot tub and huge bath made it even more special. The bed was so comfy and we were always nice and warm. The owners have thought of everything and should be proud of their product. The chilled bubbly in the fridge and freshly baked loaf on arrival were fantastic and made us feel really special. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your break in the Honeymooners' Hideaway earlier this year shortly after your wedding. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the décor of the Hideaway and we were delighted that you enjoyed some of the key features including the hot tub and the large roll top bath. We were glad that you had the opportunity to 'hideaway' to give you the chance to relax after, what was no doubt, a busy build up to your wedding. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wester ross
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our Hideaway (Honeymooers) was just simply fantastic. It is the most hassle free and easy stay I have had anywhere. We loved the hot tub and were in it within 10 mins of our arrival to watch the sun set and enjoy a nice drink. The hammock was also really comfortable and I really enjoyed lounging around in it and I loved the fire which was great to have burning away while we were enjoying our food.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway and I will definitely be coming back.

I am nit-picking as I really could not find any faults but a speaker outside near the hot tub would be great just so you can hear a little music while you are enjoying the bubbles.
Thanks to Ross and Caroline,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback below regarding your stay at the Honeymooners' Hideaway earlier this year. We were very happy to read that you found your stay 'simply fantastic'. The hot tub is definitely a favourite feature of the Hideaways and we were pleased to read that you were able to enjoy it within minutes of your arrival. Thank you also for your suggestion of a speaker outside near the hot tub, we will certainly look into the possibility of this with engineers. In the meantime we thank you for your recommendation and we hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.