We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Experience

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hideaway Experience to your Saves list
The Hideaway Experience
Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had 3 wonderful nights in the Lovers Hideaway for my birthday, what an amazing & beautiful setting.
My idea of the perfect weekend getaway from everything the relaxing atmosphere were fantastic.
The attention to detail was outstanding couldn't find one fault (not that i looked), even down to the home made bread on arrival which went down greatly.
Coming up by train and being picked up and dropped off was fantastic as well as took out the need of booking taxi's.
Arriving to find flowers from my sister for my birthday which had been ordered and arranged by Claire was an even bigger suprise.

Will be recommending you to everyone and will be coming back again soon myself.

Lauren

stayed Aug 2013

Room Tip: The lovers hideaway is the one we were in and it is the one I would want to visit again as it is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations The Hideaway Experience at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a great response to your recent stay at The Hideaway Experience. We were very pleased to read that you had such a nice time and that you had the chance to relax and enjoy your birthday. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope that you find time in the future to come and stay again.

Kind regards
Claire Moncrieff (The Hideaway Experience Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
195
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Heather and I had two wonderful nights in the Honeymooners Hideaway, a fantastic spot for unwinding and relaxing. The views and atmosphere are second to none. This was our first time at the Hideaway Experience and we will definitely be back to recharge the batteries. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, The Hideaway Experience Guest Relations at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay at the Honeymooners' Hideaway and that it provided you with such a relaxing break. It is also great to read that you enjoyed the views on offer from your Hideaway. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaways and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and to make your recommendation.

Claire Moncrieff, The Hideaway Experience Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in the Honeymooners Hideaway, a true scottish gem! We were visiting from Australia and after a couple of long weeks on the road this was the perfect indulgence. The hot tub on the deck, the steam room and the decadent double shower and free standing bath over looking the beautiful scottish farming panoramic really makes this place stand out from the rest. There was a well appointed kitchen complete with coffee machine, the selection of books and DVDs was also a lovely touch to our stay. When we return to Scotland we will certainly return for another Hideaway Experience. HIGHLY recommend, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Lovely to have Australian guests at the Honeymooners' Hideaway. We are delighted you enjoyed all the facilities and managed to have some time out from your travels for some R&R. Realise that down under is on the other side of the world but we would love to welcome you again. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loanhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the lovers hideaway and had the most peaceful, relaxing weekend. The hot tub, the views, the bathtub, the sauna, the kitchen, the log burning stove (i could go on) are out of this world! We cannot wait to return!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for posting a review, your headline "Best weekend we have ever had" made our day and our week. We have put our heart and soul into creating The Hideaway Experience and it means so much when someone feels they have had a really special time. So thanks a lot for taking the time to review us, and post photos and we look forward to welcoming you back.
best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night in the Honeymoon Hideaway and absolutely loved it! It really is a very special place indeed and if you're looking to get away from it all and really relax then this is definitely the place to go. We spent a long time sitting in the hot tub drinking fizz and just totally switching off from normal life. The views are amazing and it was great to watch the sky changing and the stars come out.
I really can't fault anything. There is loads more to say (comfy bed, very clean, lovely big bath, great sauna, fab sound system, etc) but honestly just go and treat yourself and book a stay here. I can't imagine how anyone couldn't fall in love with this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Delighted you loved your night in the Honeymooners' Hideaway and hope you will come back for longer next time som you can spend longer drinking fizz in the hot tub! We are glad you loved the views, we love them too and appreciate them even though we see them every day. Look forward to welcoming you back and thanks for taking time out to post a review, much appreciated. Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in the Lovers Hideaway in early August and was absolutely thrilled with the beautiful decor and surroundings. After becoming very ill the day earlier, I checked into the Lover's Hideaway and Caroline made sure I was completely looked after providing wonderful food and an environment which ensured I could recover peacefully. The hot tub looking out over the fields is stunning, and I could have happily stayed there all day. The music in each room was a nice added touch, and the bed was super comfortable! It was the perfect break away!
Next time I am in Scotland, I will definately be bringing myself and a special someone back here!!!
Thanks Caroline & Ross (& Claire!) for your fabulous hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lovers' Hideaway. We are glad that time at the Lovers' Hideaway helped you recover from being ill. We hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon for some more R&R and for some time relaxing in the hot tub. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay at the ' Old Romantics 'at the hideaway. I had been before about 2 years ago and it was amazing then but with the refurb completed it takes it to another level. Caroline called early to tell me I was able to get an early check in which was great. When we arrived we were just so happy to see the new layout, The sound system through the house is superb. We also had a BBQ pack with fresh local steaks, sausages and lamb kebabs which were outstanding done on the bbq with a glass of the complimentary fizzy. The main highlight is the fantastic hot tub, moved a bit now and with small decking around it really is total relaxation with the amazing views of the city below and on a clear night the stars above. The new bathroom is lovely with the new shower and the sauna, another great addition is the huge bath in the bedroom. This really is the perfect place to get away to and feels like a million miles away. Can not rave about this place enough. Hope to return soon if possible.... Just perfect!! Alastair & Elise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Alastair & Elise, thanks for taking the time to post a review of your return visit to the Romantics' Hideaway. We are delighted you loved the upgraded Hideaway, the new layout and sound system as well as the hot tub. Also glad to see you enjoyed Mr Piries fantastic Angus produce. We know time is in short supply so thanks for spending time on this feedback and we hope we can welcome you both back again soon. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.