We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Shaftesbury Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Lodge to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Lodge
1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Shaftesbury Lodge Guest House Dundee as it is now known.
This is our Second Stay with Heather & Marin.
We received a really warm welcome on Arrival. Our Room was lovely and fresh with Welcome Tray and Toiletries.
Room very comfortable, very clean, nothing too much trouble, if you required anything. Excellent daily top of Welcome Tray and Toiletries.
Lovely comfortable beds really appreciated after a long journey up.
Breakfast enjoyable each morning with a good variety of choices to suit all needs and cooked to order.
Rooms cleaned daily.
You feel Relaxed and Refreshed staying at The Shaftesbury Lodge. This is a place you will want to revisit, knowing it is all you would expect and more.
Elegant Interior and kept to an Excellent Standard still with original features of the building. Look up at the Ceilings they are something special.
Lovely views of the Tay from the hotel.
Front Garden Entrance Colourful and Welcoming, Lovely Garden at the back.
Excellent selection of Things to do leaflets at the Entrance and Guide Books in the Room, with detailed information about the surrounding area.
Excellent New Coffee House, offering good a varied choice together with some lovely homemade cakes after your main meal. Pleasant comfortable seating area ideal for meeting with friends and family, or for local residents passing by.
Location of The Shaftesbury Lodge is excellent for the local Bus Route.
You have a range of Stagecoach Buses that take you directly into Seagate Bus Station, 73, 73a, 77, 16, 16a together with Dundee National Express Service 5 that drops you into the main Shopping Area.
Seagate Bus station allows you to explore Dundee and Beyond.
Best to buy a weekly Bus Ticket, drivers and conductors will advise you on which one to buy depending on where you want to travel. Daily ones are also available if you just require short stay travel.
The Train Station is also a short distance away if you want to use Train Service.
Heather and Martin were perfect hosts Very Hardworking and always very friendly and helpful and have a good knowledge of the surrounding area.
Thanks Heather and Martin for a perfect holiday, we will be back up to see you again one day and wishing you continued successful.
Anne-Marie & Sheila Darby

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
AM, as always a very comprehensive review and one which I hope future guests will find useful and help them to decide to stay at The Shaftesbury. Always a pleasure to have you and your mum stay with us and somehow you booked the sunshine for almost the full10 days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
39
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you want a relaxing place to enjoy your coffee visit Heather's coffee shop. Good coffee great home baking and if you stay on you can enjoy an excellent light lunch in comfortable surroundings. Prices very reasonable and there is plenty parking.
PS we were not staying as we are local but thought people should be aware of this Coffee Shop

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I wanted to respond to this review which although was very flattering, is now a little out of date as the coffee shop closed at the end of the summer 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a good family-run b&b in a nice area of Dundee. Owners are friendly and happy to recommend good places to eat nearby. Our room was well decorated and had a view of a quiet street and the Firth of Tay. The bathroom was compact but had everything we needed and was perfectly clean. The whole house is tastefully decorated with lots of interesting original pictures and pieces of art. The breakfast is a treat, with an excellent selection of fruit, cereals and nuts and several options of cooked breakfasts. We liked the nice touch of offering a selection of DVDs. The only thing that could be improved is that the wooden furniture in our room was a bit tired, though there seems to be a rolling programme of refurbishment going on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were only able to stay at the Shaftesbury one night. Wish it could have been longer. Heather was a very gracious hostess and made us feel at home. The facilities were very clean and the breakfast was delicious. Very pleasant stay and would stay again if we are ever able to return to Dundee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I write this review somewhat belatedly (I actually stayed in 2011) and just want to express my appreciation to Heather - the host.

Service was second to none. Heather went out of her way to make an aussie tourist feel at home in a new place. I was travelling on my own, hungover from a night out in Aberdeen and had a bag full of dirty washing. Heather was kind enough to let me check in early and then wash, dry and fold my clothes - all this without being asked and not wanting to take any money!

The room was large, clean and breakfast was excellent! Location was also great with an excellent fish and chip shop about three minutes drive away.

So thanks heaps Heather and couldn't recommend your Hotel and service highly enough!

Regards,

Graeme.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were booked into another hotel near by but didn't like the look of it. Walked into heathers cafe for a coffee to find somewhere else and stayed there for two nights. Room was clean and comfortable but the service was excellent. made to feel right at home.Breakfast was filling and well cooked.
Cakes were delicious.

Room Tip: depends on how many stairs you wish to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We enjoyed our three nights,The room was in exceallent condition.We could not have asked for anything better.The room was warm and the view was out standing. The owners were so friendly and hospitable they were like our family. The breakfasts we had were outstanding and Heathers Tea room was just fantastic for our afternoon teas.We thoroughly would recommend. Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#12 Business Hotel in Dundee
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.