We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
England of course !
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Just about value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here whilst working away from home, but I am reviewing this as if I were paying the bill, the hotel was clean and front of desk helpful, I had arrived from a long journey and went to the bar to get a drink and a bar of chocolate, there was only one choice of chocolate at the bar and when I asked if there were others I was told straight away that was all they had..... strange when I walked through the bar for dinner later that evening there was a larger choice!! sorry just a petty gripe but the bar staff could have been more helpful.
The room: very dated, the double bed was two singles together and the pillows were without doubt the most uncomfortable I have had anywhere, but the room was very clean and the wifi was good and quick, fast enough to watch a streamed football match.
The restaurant: sorry to say this was no highlight to my stay most of the food seemed to be bought frozen and fried to order.
Saying all of this I think the place was ok value for money and ok for a night away from home whilst working but I may have to think twice if it was my own money in my own time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    83
    32
    19
    2
See reviews for
54
70
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

myself, my husband. & 2 friends stayed here because we stayed here in December for a party night which was brilliant and the rooms were brilliant so my husband wanted to stay here for his birthday. It turns out there is an old part and new part to the hotel unfortunately for us we got the old rooms which although nice enough aren't a patch on th new rooms. The room was Very small and had crumbs on the floor when we went in. The shower is just a waste of time as there is No water pressure whatsoever!! We went for a swim the pool is small but tidy enough the ladies changing rooms are in need of a revamp the showers are so high up it took forever to wash my hair.
However we had our dinner in the restaurant and the food was spectacular and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was great and everything was hot and fresh even at 9.45.
If you are booking this hotel do it in plenty of time as they have loads of functions on and ask for a room in the new part.. All in all a great hotel if you stay in the great rooms but average if you don't.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during February when travel was disrupted due to snow. Fortunately the facilities in the hotel kept us occupied. The pool, gym, sauna and steam room were very well maintained and very clean.

The room was very clean and had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. The staff are very courteous and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious and many options are cooked to order. May have benefitted from a range of light snacks in the bar during the evening, although meals from the restaurant menu were available.

Excellent train service from Broughty Ferry to Dundee allowed us to shop in spite of the snow!

Will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the new wing on the ground floor. It was quiet with open outlook onto grass area bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A one night stay this time, but as always, the staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was all fresh and well cooked: loads to choose from. Dinner was very relaxed and there was a good choice of fayre. The decor is fresh and well maintained.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original building tend to be larger. Some of the rooms in the new wing have adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were at a wedding last weekend in the Woodlands. The day was great, but the food was(and I'm being kind) was terrible. It is obvious that the head chef has no passion for food, or for making the couples day, one to remember. The soup tasted of nothing, and the vegetable Thai curry was a plate of mush. The staff were fine, but the food has to improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny Y, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the vegetarian option on the day, and I've addressed your comments with the Head Chef. It is our top priority to make weddings as special as we possibly can for the couple (and all of the guests!), so thank you for letting us know where there is room for improvement. We've since heard from Steve & Cyanara, they seem to have really enjoyed their special day - I'm glad to see that spirits weren't dampened by a lacklustre vegetarian option.

Jenny Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned home today after spending 2 nights at the Woodlands Hotel, The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are of a high standard of cleanliness and comfort, all public areas are very well looked after.Breakfast was excellent far too many options on offer to mention here, evening meal menu was also excellent with good choices.The pool and gym areas are also very well maintained and of an excellent standard of cleanliness.Excellent value for money, will definatily make a return visit and would recommend the Woodlands

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Only stayed here for one night as it was a stop over for an onward journey. I can't fault this hotel one bit. Friendly staff, clean bright room and a good pool area with sauna and steam room. The food was of good quality and at a fair price. Breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. You won't go far wrong in choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you find stairs hard then ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel

Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.