We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip, and found it to be easy to find, plenty of car parking and near the centre.
The check in/out was friendly and speedy. The hotel itself is very nice indeed and the reception area/dining area is lovely, with a beautiful big staircase leading to upper bedrooms.
My room was a single room and was perfectly adequate. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space to put things.
The bathroom was great, with a good powerful shower. I had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and there was a good choice on the menus. The breakfast was especially good, with lots of fruit, hot and cold choices or porridge!
I found it to be nice and quiet at night, although my room was extremely hot! But there was a fan supplied.
Overall, I would stay there again if i am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, Manager at BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Invercarse.

I was extremely pleased to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast.

We pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff and was happy to hear that you felt they were as we expect them to be.

We still have some single bedded rooms, like the one you stayed in, and although small with a single bed they are nicely decorated and have all the amenities required and guests do seem to like them.

Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Yours sincerely

Sharon Thomson
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    83
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
44
39
14
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a bed and breakfast basis. The room allocated was extremely spacious with twin beds dressing area and large bathroom. Room was immaculate. The location of the room for me was not the best, situated on the ground floor immediately beside the stairs meant there was a lot of traffic and on the noisy floor boards directly outside my room door meant I did wake up a couple of times during the night.
Usual tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplied. Breakfast was served in the bar area with the most wonderful views of the river tay fantastic surroundings. There was the usual hot scottish buffet style breakfast and cereals, juices, yoghurts etc. The hotel was 100% occupancy, staff were courteous particular the bar lady in the early evening who was really friendly.
Plenty car parking available.
Fine for business purposes but would not necessarily choose this hotel for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, Manager at BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Invercarse.

I am sorry to hear that you were woken by the noise from the corridor and room above.

We have just replaced our carpets in the corridor so hopefully on your next visit you will find that the noise isn't so bad.

I was extremely pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the rest of your stay, breakfast and our friendly staff.

Thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely

Sharon Thomson
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My group of 14 friends thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The restaurant food was lovely with a good choice and breakfast was excellent. The rooms were well furnished and clean and this is certainly a venue I would recommend to anyone whether it be an overnight stay or longer. The hotel is situated in a lovely residential area of Dundee but not far from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been lucky enough to stay at The Invercarse on many occasions and it is always a delight. The staff are very attentive without being intrusive. Breakfasts are great. Eggs cooked to order. The restaurant is a lot better than the average hotel which explains why so many locals use it as well as the guests.
It is handily situated for trips into Dundee and the grounds and the views from the hotel are magnificent
I look forward to my next stay. It really is 'A Home from Home'.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the sort of hotel you could safely book your fussy parents into. Good value, lots of parking, great view of the Tay, nice restaurant, plentiful breakfast, professional and polite staff, comfy beds, large bathrooms and all the trouser presses and wake up calls you could possibly want. Your grandparents might prefer a ground floor room, as there's no lift.

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard double room, which was surprisingly large and had everything I needed. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your feedback . I'm pleased you were happy with the Hotel facilities and would recommend us even to your parents.

Kind regards

Martina Kidd
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked invercarse house for a 2 day business trip and wanted somewhere within easy reach of the main road to Aberdeen ,which it is,about 2-3 mile very easy to locate,nice hotel seems well run/efficient fair walk up the corridors to my room 116 nice room large clean comfortable large wall mounted tv (no dvd as advertised on booking .com) good sized bathroom with shower (water a little slow!) corridor outside my room a little fusty smelling although all the others smelt o/k likewise the room. nice restaurant with pleasant outlook food good and the service very efficient though it was slightly to hot for me initially. breakfast o/k it was a buffet no cooked eggs on display sausage slightly to herby outherwise good. it has a very large car park and a ballroom which holds funvtions although not intrusive and my room was on the ground level facing the car park for the ballroom overall recomended

Room Tip: maybe a room facing away from the ballroom car park if they had a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago , turned up after 8 and found an efficient welcome and a larger than average room awaiting me.

The car park was large with lots of spare spaces, if it was raining you would get wet on the walk to reception

Room was well appointed and very clean.

Wifi worked Ok , had a problem with the lights failing after about 10 minutes but I assume the circuit breaker was reset and the lights resumed working , this took less than 5 minutes.

Restaurant service was good and the food was excellent.

Bed was comfortable and I slept very well.

Breakfast continued the good standard both in service and food, the sausages were lovely.

In all I like this hotel and will stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Invercarse Hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forawrd to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Martina Kidd
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel

Address: 371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dundee
#7 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End, and overlooks the River Tay. All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with satellite viewing. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The dining room overlooks mature gardens with aspects toward the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. There is ample off street FREE parking for approx. 120 Cars. Complimentary use of leisure facilities can be used at our sister hotel The Best Western Woodlands Hotel, situated in Broughty Ferry, Dundee. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Dundee, and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance, as one of Scotland's largest developing cities, Dundee boasts excellent transport links, the airport, which has regular scheduled flights with Flybe to Stanstead Airport is a few minutes' drive from the hotel and the train station puts any major city within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.