We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Dundee, book a room and you won't regret it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are in Dundee, book a room and you won't regret it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We arrived in Dundee after a long drive from the North of England and were unsure of what to expect, other than the mostly favourable reviews we had read on this site.

Well, they were all spot on. The hotel is situated about 5-10 drive from the centre of Dundee, fairly high up on a hill which means that there are nice views of river Tay and the surrounding countryside. All very nice, particularly so if you are lucky enough to have good weather and enjoy a drink taking in the nice views from the hotel's garden.

Upon arrival we were informed that a mistake had taken place in our online reservation and the double room was booked for one person only. This turned up to be a mistake on our part but they were fast to ammend and just asked an extra £14 for my partner's two breakfasts. Also they had a second set of towels up in our room within minutes. Very responsive and friendly service (it's the little things that make a difference after all...)

The room was clean and quite spacious, with a double bed, TV, desk and two small armchairs. The bathroom was fine with a bathtub and shower. The only minus was the low pressure in the shower but it was a minor detail and we could still take a very reasonable shower.

As I saw mentioned on this site several times, the breakfast is very good. And includes a warm food buffet (eggs, bacon, sausages, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes, potato pancakes, toast) and cold food one (cereals, juices, pastries, croissants, fresh bread, ham, cheese) plus the usual coffee/tea. So great variety and really good service.

Also we highly recommend giving the hotel restaurant a go. We were urged to do so by the receptionist on arrival but we initially thought that it was an act of self-promotion and how wrong we were...Once again, good variety, well cooked food, friendly service, nice environment and very reasonable prices. (actually much better than anything we came across in Dundee town centre!)

Finally, the hotel does organise a fair amount of weddings but if you opt for an upper floor room there shouldn't be any problem. I did listen to wedding guests coming out later in the night to go to the car park but it was a warm weekend and our window was open and, even in those circumnstances, it is not something that will keep you awake at night.

Overall, a great hotel, very good value for money, friendly service that is definetely worth a go.

Ps. Very positive review, I know, but no I don't work there!

Room Tip: Upper floor room; free Wi-Fi (but rather slow)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
35
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Reception friendly and very helpful, as were bar & breakfast staff. Large room (booked kingsize bed) with exceptionally large bed, must have been about 8 foot across. It was certainly wider than long. Clean & tidy. Noisy radiator at 5am when heating came on due to air in system. Switched it off. Room warm enough anyway. reported to reception who said they would get it sorted. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Nice touch, bacon in serving unit sitting on slices of toast, presumably to soak up any excess oil/moisture.

Very pleased overall

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Everything about my 2 day stay at the hotel was first class. From arrival to departure all the staff were informative, helpful, attentive and hard working.
Rooms were very clean and well stocked and comfortable.
I was fortunate to have been able to stay in the hotel on two separate occasions within two weeks and had the chance to try much of the menu. Again excellent. The breakfast menu was tasty and set me up for a days work outside. My compliments to all of the hotel's staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at the Invercarse recently for a family wedding and were very pleasantly surprised. The first room we had was excellent - roomy, huge bed, very clean and a lovely bathroom. Due to our own late booking we had to swap rooms for the second night. Again we had a spacious room but one of the twin beds was a bit past it's best. However again we couldn't fault the cleanliness or the lovely bathroom.

The buffet breakfast was excellent - topped up regularly and nice and hot.

All the staff were excellent. Very friendly and very efficient. I hope we get the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. We received a very warm welcome and our room was large, clean and cosy with an open outlook. The bar was a great place to relax and was open to residents for as long as required. Breakfast was outsanding and served by 2 lovely ladies who were exceptionally cheery. While it lies a couple of miles from the centre, there is a great bus service or a taxi is only £5.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed 1 night at the Invercarse, room was very small but clean, as is the hotel overall, but the bed was just awful, hardly sleept a wink, springs were through the matress.

On the plus side i ate in the bar, staff sorted me out a meal, even though the resturant was closed, food was very good, sticky toffee pudding was a joy, wish i could have brought some home for the wife..

Left to early for breakfast, but overnight porter offered to sort me something out as i was leaving, what a nice touch.

To summerise, staff are excellent, resturant good, but rooms need attention, as previous posters have stated, apparantly this is one of the older hotels in Dundee, and it needs some attention to detail, still a better bet than the Hilton though!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The first thing that hit you when walking to your room was the heat, every radiator seemed to be turned right up in the corridor and when we got in the room the radiator was again turned all the way up. Room very small my husband and I couldn't move around the room at the same time without bumping into each other, we kept finding little hairs everywhere and the towels were a bit smelly. Original building would of been lovely but then they stuck at awful extension on to it and it looks terrible. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel

Address: 371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End, and overlooks the River Tay. All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with satellite viewing. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The dining room overlooks mature gardens with aspects toward the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. There is ample off street FREE parking for approx. 120 Cars. Complimentary use of leisure facilities can be used at our sister hotel The Best Western Woodlands Hotel, situated in Broughty Ferry, Dundee. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Dundee, and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance, as one of Scotland's largest developing cities, Dundee boasts excellent transport links, the airport, which has regular scheduled flights with Flybe to Stanstead Airport is a few minutes' drive from the hotel and the train station puts any major city within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.