We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craigtay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigtay Hotel to your Saves list
Craigtay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Varmahlid, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we stayed two nights in this hotel, found at the last minute on bookings.com
This is an average but clean two stars hotel with rather old furnitures, old painted walls and noisy floor. However the beds were ok and we had a confortable sleep. Staff was helpful and polite, and breakfast was average.
expensive for what it is but I will blame it at myself for booking a day in advance.

Hotel is located about 15 minutes walk off the city center. Taxi ride is about 5 to 7 pounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    11
    5
    32
See reviews for
11
19
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very disappointed I had a issue with my room which on first impressions seemed OK however during my stay there was a major issues which meant I was unable stay in the room so I requested a different room this was very speedily arranged for me. Breakfast was terrible undercooked porridge which is not acceptable for Scotland. On checking out a very polite man said that he would ensure the Manager would write to me with regards to my complaint due to severity of the complaint. To date no letter has been received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited for lunch with friends. Welcomed very warmly at the door and ushered to a lovely dining area - spacious and well presented. Two of us had soups (different) - clearly home made - tasty and hot served with hot french bread and butter one had pudding - disappeared very quickly! In between we had 3 different mains - all well received. Fish very fresh steak pie home made good portion sizes. A range of options available from quality "pub grub" to chargrills burgers and more. Something for everyone. Good quality coffee - would have been nice to have a mint or tablet or similar with coffee but that is just me!

Afternoon and high teas available in addition to lunches and evening meals and light bites. Also have themed evenings eg steak night and weekday lunch offers. We intend to go back to sample one or more of these.

Prices very reasonable especially if you go outwith the weekend - although Sunday roast seems very good value for money. Some mains are offered at 2 for £10.

Service excellent. Will be returning and would definitely reccomend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, NW Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights while doing some work at harbour.

It is a typical travelling salesman type hotel. It has what some may call "character", it has creaky floors, dated furniture. I must have had the same room as a previous reviewer as I found the hole in the floor under the carpet in the bathroom (who carpets bathrooms!)

However, it was reasonably clean, the sleep was fine, tea/coffee in the room, meals in the evening were bar style food. Breakfast was fine full Scottish (cereals etc available), and porrage if you ask.

From previous reviews, there appears to have been a change in management within the last few months. I found the staff friendly and attentive, the place is getting a lick of paint, and I think previous bad reviews have to take into account these changes as it is no longer the same hotel.

A good place for a reasonable middle of the road stay if you just want a quiet pint at night, some food and a bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a meal in here last Sunday. Didn't know what to expect but was not dissapointed.
Lovely dinning room, tables not all crammed together like your sitting on someones lap like in some places. I think it has recently been taken over so i can't compare what it was like before.

Prices are reasonable, same as what you would pay in a pub, service was good and the meals were also good, {steak pie, Fish n chips}
Will definitley visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went back to the Craigtay for a 3 night break, and immedietly found new friendly helpful staff,everything clean and tidy,lovely breakfast. Not sure if under new owners, but the difference to our last stay was great. Will definately be back....

Room Tip: Room 2 has a double bed and single bed but only charged for double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed at this hotel recently and defenitely will not stay again.downstairs was fine as were staff but room wasn't so good.hole in toilet floor under carpet but i think all the flooring probably should be replaced.floorboards loose and creaky.hole in wall behind door.also had to pump toilet flush handle 4 or 5 times to flush.coat of paint wouldn't go amiss on the window ledge.best of all, came back from family party to find we couldn't get in our room.the key wouldn't unlock door.staff were helpful but totally embarassed by it all.while we waited downstairs think door was forced just to get it open.no management in site when checking out to apologise.my worst ever stay in a hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigtay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtay Hotel

Address: 101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Craigtay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Craigtay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigtay Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigtay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.