We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drouthy's

Drouthy's
142 Perth Road, Dundee DD1 4JW, Scotland
01382 202187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 281 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A terrific earthy little bar, one that shows the time and care spent making it warm, cosy and unpretentious and providing a favourite tipple for everybody. The most delicious pub grub served all day - exactly what you feel like with your dram or pint. Many good wines on offer, posh coffees too. Live music, private parties, real fires.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Drouthys has become one of my fav bars because it's got the best burgers and to top that the beer is always pretty outstanding. Great selection of Craft beers on every time I head along which is about once or twice a month. I don't know what they put in their burger mix but just wow all the time. The deserts aren't too shabby either, warmed choc brownie with Ice cream if I can fit it in is always pleasant.

Bar staff and Management are great, always very welcoming and are always keen to let you sample the beers before you try them.

This is a place I tell everyone about and they always agree, it's awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed by recent changes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Droughtys became in the last years our best place for a drink and burgers! The choice of beers is great, can't complain. i always said good things about the food and recommended it to friend , but our last visit made me wonder if I will go again... or not! The burger has changed, meat is not as good as before, the burger buns is definitely a let down! the seeded bun was definitely better. The fries: but noooooo! why those thin fries, oily and tasteless? And the dessert: a chocolate brownies: it was just warm up in the microwave I guess, the white chocolate ganache was just a decoration on top of the cake made from cheap chocolate... a real let down! Please Droughtys, we want the good stuffs again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
568 helpful votes 568 helpful votes
“Hmm undecided over new changes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently came in for some of my beloved nachos...only to see that there have been some changes.

Ok,change is good. But I'm not so sure if this is the case with Drouthy's.

I'm not loving the new plates. The old one's were much nicer and felt more "gastro pub". The new one's look like they should be in a fine dining establishment.

Secondly, I HATE the new salsa. It's awful, really really awful. It tastes too sweet :( The old stuff was great guys, why change it?

Also, there was a very small amount of jalapeno's on my large nachos :(

My friend was pleased with the new chips, as she hated "fat" chips.

Please change the salsa back :(

If it's not broke, why fix it??

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Need to book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a meal there a few times but sometimes not able to get a table. Good pub food and prompt service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went in for a bite to eat and ended up staying all night. Had a lovely chicken burger meal. Staff lovely. Very attentive. Nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drouthy's also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Drouthy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drouthy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.