We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix

The Phoenix
103 Nethergate, Dundee dd 5 1t, Scotland
13282 738922
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 288 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

absolutely SHOCKING customer service. i ordered the chilli burger & couldn't even eat the burger since i had one teeny bit of the chilli itself & found it faaaar too hot to eat. took it back & wanted to swap it for a normal cheeseburger & i had to pay for a whole new burger when i didn't even touch the one i had originally ordered!! didn't even get offered a free drink & the staff didn't even check on us once my cheeseburger had come out. worst eating out experience i've had & will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    3
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Often hard to get a seat/table.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This old pub in Dundee's Nethergate has a loyal following. If you can get a table, food is good. Nice portions, nice prices.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Possibly the best place in Dundee for good pub food. The place has a mixture of all ages & types; students, business people, although there are no kids allowed in.

The food is great. If it says hot/chilli on the menu it is so beware! Snacks and meals all day to evening, staff are great, toilets arent great but hey it's a pub! Fish & chips are generous and really good!

Evern if you are a alone, you will feel safe and welcome here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The Phoenix bar dose the best chill in dundee I eat it every time I go in so anybody going for first time a chill hot its the best

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A really good pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Probably the best pub we visited in Dundee. Friendly staff, good service several real ales and also quite a lively atmosphere. Doesn't look like much from the outside but cosy and friendly on the inside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.