We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restarunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Sorrento

Ciao Sorrento
Union Street, Dundee, Scotland
+44 1382 221760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 280 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: If you want to enjoy fresh quality food in a typical Italian family-style atmosphere, Ciao Sorrento is the place for you. Ciao Sorrento prides itself on using ingredients bought daily and prepared to an extremely high, consistent standard. Consistency is the key word. The food is always the same, excellent. It never varies or drops below this proudly maintained level. It doesn't matter whether you opt for pasta, fish, chicken or steak the dish never fails to hit the high spot. You always know you're going to be served with top quality food cooked to the highest level.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice restarunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I really enjoy going to this place, traditional atmosphere decent food, it feel like an authentic Italian restaurant, it is a bit pricy but worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    36
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dundee scotland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I have been to in a long time - food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went here on a Friday night with friends and wished I hadn't bothered. Ordered a sirloin steak - didn't have any which cancelled out half the beef options. Was told I could have a fillet steak which I said I didnt want - not flavourful enough for me and way too expensive (as indeed was the sirloin - only marginally cheaper). Response from waitress - our steaks are cheapest in town (not true) if you don't want to pay look at the chicken it is cheaper! If I had been only with my husband I would have walked out at that stage but as I was on a night out with friends I don't see very often I didn't want to make a scene so ignored her comments. I ordered soup and a pasta dish. Soup was ok - wasn't served with bread of any sort - waitress said I could buy garlic bread if I wanted bread. As this would have pushed the price up to ridiculous for a bowl of soup I declined. My pasta dish could have come out of a tin! Pasta was over over cooked and the sauce had no flavour other than that provided by the odd bits of bacon found under the pasta. The portion size was very small however in this case the offering was so poor it didn't really matter. I have made better pasta dishes rushing in from work to provide a quick family tea. My friends - two vegetarian - all had starters and main courses. Felt it was ok at best but again portions very small - had to buy bread to make it reasonable. All agreed food is way overpriced for what it is.
After main courses we asked for "space" before looking at the dessert menu to allow us time to chat and relax as much as we could - it is not a comfortable restaurant as too many tables and chairs in a small space - if you are on the outside you have to keep pulling your chair in to let the waitresses by. Waitress did not seem happy but agreed though she came back very smartly with them and said we perhaps wanted to look now. On the third time of her asking if we were ready to order now we asked which of the desserts were home made because they all appeared to be prefrozen items of the sort that come as an afterthought in Indian / Chinese restaurants. She said only the Tiramisu came homemade but they didn't have any!! We declined to order desserts and weren't offered coffees. During this time the restaurant had been emptying and only our party and a couple were left (9.30). We were most certainly made to feel that we should be on our way - one of my friend's wine glass was removed by a passing waitress almost before it hit the table - clearly another glass of wine was out of the question! We then asked for coffees - very grudgingly brought. The couple paid and left. While we were drinking coffees the kitchen lights and lights in the back sector of the restaurant were switched off and the cook(?) and two of the waitresses stood with hands on hips yawning and posturing. We were made to feel extremely uncomfortable so asked for the bill which came most swiftly. We are still waiting for our change - the staff clearly felt their efforts were worthy of keeping a service charge. Two of my friends went to use the toilet before leaving while the rest of us felt obligated to go and stand outside in the street to wait for them as the staff had their coats on and were racing past us to get out. My two friends literally stepped out the door and had it closed and locked behind them in ten seconds. We have eaten in a range of places with a range of cuisines but this was the first time ever we have found ourselves standing in the street at 10 oclock on a Friday night - difficult when our transport was arranged as it always is for 11 oclock - hardly late! Fortunately there is a pub across the road which we enjoyed for that hour.

To sum up - poor food and service - way overpriced including the white wine which was warm - were not made to feel welcome or valued as a customer - rather the opposite. Wont be back and definitely would not recommend to others. There are far better places in Dundee and the surrounding area that would welcome your custom and provide a far superior dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice food, but you can find better value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a graduation lunch without booking and they handled well for a group of about ten. Everyone liked their dish and we had a good time.

I wouldn't return for a dinner for two though as it's a bit pricey and nothing amazing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Size matters!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice enough place but the size of main course pasta dishes was not even borderline small. They were small. As I like to give an honest answer when asked if everything was ok, I mentioned the small portions, and the reply was that I should have bought a side order of garlic bread. At £10.50 for a small bowl of pasta I expected better. I was also told that nobody complained about the size of portions but they can't be reading their reviews.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Easily the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Been to Ciao many times over the past ten years -it is one of our favourite haunts. Never been less than satisfied with the food (all freshly cooked) ,service(friendly and welcoming) or the price. Portions are adequate and pasta dishes are about £9.50. For city centre this price is fair. If you want cheap food go to some of the chain restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Sorrento also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.